Though the Bahawalpur National Awami Party (BNAP) chairman is not taking part in the local bodies elections but PML-N, PPP, PML-Q and independent candidates here are claiming his support and carrying his photos in order to woo the voters.

Nawab Salahuddin Abbasi is not backing candidates of any party or group throughout Bahawalpur district. He is staying in Bahawalpur house Islamabad nowadays, but his photographs are being properly displayed by PPP, PML-Q and independent candidates on their posters and flexes.

Even in Union Council Mehrabwala elections, PML-N candidates were using Nawab’s photos in their election campaign along with Premier Nawaz Sharif and Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif’s photos.

Meanwhile, one candidate of chairman and three candidates of councillor were elected in Union Council Rajarhu, wards of Ahmedpur East and Dera Nawab Sahib and Uch Sharif have been elected unopposed respectively.

Yasir Saleem Sheikh, PML-N candidate for Chairmanship of Union Council Rajarhu, was elected unopposed as his rival candidate Sheikh Shahid Hameed nomination papers were rejected. He belongs to Hassan Askari Sheikh group.

Dr Maqsood Mehar belongs to Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf while Allah Bakhsh Joya is associated with former Tehsil Nazim Makhdoom Syed Samiul Hassan Gillani group.

Similarly, in ward-5 of Municipal Committee Uch Sharif, Khawaja Qaiser Abbas, a candidate of Gillani-Bokhari Ittehad, was elected unopposed.

On the other side, Pakistan Muslim League-Q has issued 400 tickets for its candidates who are contesting for local bodies elections in NA-186 Hasilpur and NA-187Yazman.

This was stated by district president Syed Salahuddin Ahmed Jeelani while talking to newsmen. Central senior vice president of Pakistan Muslim League-Q Chaudhry Tariq Bashir Cheema is leading the PML-Q campaign in Bahawalpur district. He intends to field opposition candidate for the chairmanship of district council Bahawalpur.