ISLAMABAD -  Punjab Police clinched the 1st All-Pakistan Law Enforcement Agencies Martyrs T20 Cricket trophy after defeating mighty FWO by 23 runs in the final here at Diamond ground on Thursday.

It was a well-deserving victory for Punjab Police , who played the tournament without including a single outsider and relied on their own players. FWO skipper Obaid won the toss and opted to field first. His decision failed to produce desired results, as Punjab posted massive 232-4 on the board. Thanks mainly to superb 167-run opening partnership between skipper Zaheer Ahmed and Qasim, as the pair thrashed super star FWO bowlers to all corners of the park. Zaheer scored stylish 84 off 59 balls hitting 10 fours and 4 sixes, while Qasim slammed 71 off 38 balls with the help of 3 fours and 7 sixes. Abdullah also played well and contributed unbeaten 34 off 12 balls. Obaid Bangash captured 2 for 41.

Chasing a mammoth total, FWO could score 209 for the loss of 8 wickets. Hasnain Butt hit 52 and skipper Obaid 33. Champion bowler Ali Fahad once again played vital role in helping his team achieve yet another memorable victory as he captured 4 for 54, while Qasim and Zarar took 2 wickets each.

FWO Director General Lt Gen M Afzal graced the occasion as chief guest, while IG Motorways Syed Kaleem Imam, SSP Shahryar Sikandar, SPO Malik Farooq, test cricketers Shoaib Akhtar, Sohail Tanveer, FBR chairman Altaf Butt and others were also present on the occasion.

Winning team skipper Zaheer Ahmed was handed over the championship trophy and Rs 200,000 cash prize, while runners-up team skipper Obaid Bangash was given trophy and Rs 150,000 cash. Punjab Police’s Ali Fahad was declared the best bowler, FWO skipper Zaheer Ahmed the best batsman, Punjab Police skipper Zaheer Ahmed the most valuable cricketer and Motorways Police’s Tayyab Muslim the best wicketkeeper.

The FWO DG announced Rs 1 million for martyrs families, 500,000 for tournament organising committee, while Diamond ground, which only hosted the final, were also given Rs 500,000 cash. Bilal of Savor Foods gave Rs 50,000 cash to the winning team and Rs 25,000 to the runners-up. PCB umpires Saleem Bhat and Mirdad supervised the match, while Shakeel Ahmed was official scorer.