ISLAMABAD - Chairman National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) Dr Zafar Iqbal Qadir Tuesday announced ‘NDMA Disasters Coverage Awards’ for journalists covering natural disaster and disastrous areas for the year 2010-11.

The awards would be given to journalists for best coverage and reporting on disasters during the year 2010-11. Chairman NDMA announced the wards during a press conference held at the National press Club (NPC). President Pakistan Federal Union of Journalists (PFUJ) Pervez Shaukat and President National Press Club (NPC) Faisal Farooq Khan also accompanied him.

For participation in the awards’ competition, the journalists would submit their stories and write-ups at the local press clubs and with local journalists’ associations till April 30.

The Chairman NDMA said that NPC was being declared as central secretariat while regional secretariat are being established at Karachi, Peshawar, Quetta, Lahore and Multan where entries would be received for all categories of the awards. Later, all entries would be gathered at central secretariat. Dr Qadir said that the seven categories for the awards include reporters, cameramen and anchorpersons of electronic media as well as reporters and photographers of English and Urdu print media. In addition to that, awards in five categories would be given for coverage in Balochi, Sindhi, Pushto, Punjabi and Seriaki languages.

The chairman NDMA on the occasion admitted that media had played a positive role while covering natural disasters and always pointed out loopholes in the rehabilitation and rescue activities while covering such disasters.

 “Media would continue playing such role,” he hoped. He appreciated the media persons including reporters, photojournalists and anchorpersons to visit the dangerous areas of the country hit by such disasters and always reached there first.