ISLAMABAD - The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) on Friday issued the tax directory, showing 1,040 of total 1169 lawmakers filed their income tax returns for the year 2014.

The PML-N government issued the tax directory for the consecutive second year, which showed details of income tax returns for the year 2014. The FBR issued two different directories, one of the lawmakers and the other of the general people. The parliamentarians’ tax directory gives tax details of all members of the Senate, the National Assembly and the provincial assemblies.

“To date, of total 1,169 parliamentarians, 1,040 have filed their income tax returns for the tax year 2014. For the remaining parliamentarians, due process is being adopted,” Finance Minister Ishaq Dar stated in the tax directory.

According to details, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif paid Rs 2.61 million tax during 2014. Senate Chairman Raza Rabbai paid Rs 685,707, Finance Minister Ishaq Dar Rs 2.29 million, Interior Minister Ch Nisar Rs 641,284, Defence Minister Khawaja Asif Rs 311,638, Petroleum Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi Rs 2.21 million, Railways Minister Khawaja Saad Rafique Rs 2.04 million, Planning Minister Ahsan Iqbal Rs 130,749, Information Minister Pervaiz Rashid Rs 313,681and National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq paid Rs 327,895 income tax during 2014.

Meanwhile, Leader of Opposition in National Assembly Syed Khurshid Shah paid Rs 100,054 income tax, PTI Chairman Imran Khan Rs 218,237 tax, JUI-F Amir Maulana Fazlur Rehman Rs 15,688, Awami Muslim League chief Sheikh Rasheed Rs 303,893, Dr Farooq Sattar of MQM Rs 89,935, Shah Mahmood Qureshi of PTI Rs 1.5 million, Dr Shireen Mazari of PTI Rs 1.1 million, Pervaiz Elahi of PML-Q Rs 1.34 million, Ghulam Ahmad Bilour of ANP Rs 17,271 and former Speaker National Assembly Dr Fehmida Mirza paid Rs 59,281.

MNA Hamza Shehbaz Sharif paid Rs 4.88 million tax, MNA Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao Rs 1.68 million, former KP Chief Minister Ameer Haider Khan Hoti Rs 31,377, National Assembly Standing Committee on Finance Chairman Omar Ayub Khan Rs 3.48 million, Prime Minister’s Son in Law Cap (r) Mohammad Safdar Rs 39,900, PTI MNA Asad Omar Rs 489,457, Minister of State for Water and Power Abid Sher Ali paid Rs 112,415, PTI MNA Shafqat Mahmood Rs 72,095 and PPP MNA Faryal Talpur paid Rs 4.8 million.

Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif paid Rs 5.13 million tax, Sindh CM Qaim Ali Shah Rs 111,772, KP CM Pervaiz Khattak Rs 660,619 and Balochistan CM Dr Malik paid Rs 63,443 income tax.

Leader of House in the Senate Raja Zafarul Haq paid Rs 99,446, Leader of Opposition in Senate Aitzaz Ahsan Rs 10.2 million, Senate Deputy Chairman Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri Rs 30,169, PPP Senator Rehman Malik Rs 17,379, MQM Senator Farogh-e-Naeem Rs 100.6 million, former Finance Minister Saleem Mandviwalla Rs 1.2 million and ANP Senator Shahi Syed paid Rs 622,569.

The senators who did not pay any tax last year are Gul Bushra, Mir Naimatullah Zehri, Muhammad Usman Khan Kakar, Sardar Muhammad Azam, Shahbaz Khan Durrani, Hilal-ur-Rehman, Iqbal Zafar Jhagra, Maulana Ataur Rehman, Azam Khan Hoti, Muhammad Javed Abbasi, Sirajul Haq, Sittara Ayaz, Saleem Zia and Nighat Mirza.

Addressing the launching ceremony of Parliamentarians and General Tax Directories in Islamabad, Finance Minister Ishaq Dar said first time tax directories have been published for the second consecutive year. These would be released and also uploaded on the website of the FBR, he said.  

The finance minister said the government has accomplished three years’ work in one year in the field of economy. He said the government is pursuing a comprehensive reforms agenda and economic issues are being handled in a transparent manner.

The minister said the number of taxpayers in the country has gone beyond 0.8 million. He added the government has planned to include 100,000 non-taxpayers in the tax net every year.