LAHORE – Pakistan national hockey team, which finished seventh in the London Olympics 2012, will be playing the Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy 2012, it is learnt here on Friday.

The decision allowing Pakistan’s entry in the tournament was taken during a meeting of the executive board of the FIH.

Defending champions Australia will host the tournament which is the 34th edition of the Hockey Champions Trophy. A total of eight teams including Netherlands, New Zealand, Germany, Belgium, India and England will be playing the tournament.

Team’s head coach Akhtar Rasool appreciated the decision granting entry to Pakistan and said that the team would do its best in Champions Trophy. 

Rubbing salt into the already beleaguered Indian team's wounds, Khawaja Juniad said his players had performed ‘much better’ than their arch-rivals in the Olympic Games.  "I am disappointed we didn't make the semi-finals but satisfied that we finished the Olympics as the top-ranked Asian team ahead of India and Korea," he added.