LAHORE – PML-Q will get one general seat of the Senate from Punjab and a technocrat seat from Islamabad, through an electoral adjustment with the PPP. The Nation has learnt from good authority.

PML-Q’s Secretary Information Kamil Ali Agha and Secretary General Mushahid Hussain Syed will be the candidates of the party for the seats from the province and federal capital respectively,

Sources in the PML-Q, close to party’s high command revealed on Friday that Ghafoor Hoti and Aleem Adil Sheikh are the most likely candidates for Senate elections from Sindh, while an advisor to the Prime Minister Qasim Shah, is a strong contender from Khyber Pukhtunkhawa.

They added that PML-Q top leadership has finalised four Senators from Balochistan with PPP senior leadership, while they were still negotiating another Senate seat on minority quota from the province.  Kamil Ali Agha, when contacted for confirmation of his and Mushahid Hussain candidature for the Senate, said that his party would make further political adjustments with their coalition partners in Sindh, Khyber Pukhtunkhawa and Balochistan. The finalised details would be made public soon after reaching a power sharing agreement for Senate seats from the mentioned provinces.

When asked to reveal the names of strong candidates from Sindh, Khyber Pukhtunkhawa and Balochistan, he evaded revealing the names and said that they would get share according to their strength in the three provinces.

The PML-Q Senators on general seats from Punjab, who will retire on March 11 include Sardar Mohammad Jamal Khan Leghari, Syed Javed Ali Shah, Lt Gen (Retd) Javed Ashraf, Mohammad Ali Durrani and Naeem Hussain Chattha.  Gulshan Saeed and Nilofar Bakhtiar will retire from the seats reserved for women, while the technocrats including Ulema seats include SM Zafar and Haroon Khan.

Meanwhile Senator Tariq Azim will retire from the federal capital on general seat and  Wasim Sajjad will retire from technocrat seat.

PML-Q;s retiring members from Sindh include Abdul Ghaffar Qureshi on general seat and Semeen Siddiqui from women seat.

On general seats from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, PML-Q’s Ammar Ahmed Khan and Saleem Saifullah Khan will retire on March 11, while Fauzia Fakhar-uz-Zaman will retire from seats reserved for women.  The PML-Q members to retire on general seats from Balochistan include Mir Mohabat Khan Marri and Jan Muhammad Khan Jamali. Rehana Yahya Baloch will retire from women seat, while Saeed Ahmed Hashmi will retire from technocrat seat.