DHAKA (AFP) - Elton Chigumbura scored a solid 64 and spinner Prosper Utseya bagged two key wickets as Zimbabwe defeated Bangladesh by 38 runs in a triangular one-day series match here on Saturday. Zimbabwe rode on man-of-the-match Chigumbura's eighth half-century to post 205-9 before dismissing the hosts for 167, thanks to off-spinner Utseya's 2-22 off 10 tight overs. It was only Zimbabwe's second win in their last 12 one-day internationals against Bangladesh. The Africans take on Sri Lanka here on Monday. Each side will play two league matches before the top two qualify for the final on January 16. Skipper Utseya's decision to share the new ball with Edward Rainsford produced instant results as he grabbed two of the first four wickets to send the hosts reeling at 33-4. The spinner trapped opener Junaid Siddiqui leg-before for no score with his second delivery and then had skipper Mohammad Ashraful (18) caught by Vusimuzi Sibanda. He conceded just 13 runs in his opening seven-over spell. Shakib Al Hasan, who earlier bagged 3-23, alone offered a stiff resistance with an impressive 52 for his ninth half-century in one-day internationals. He also put on 59 for the fifth wicket with Raqibul Hasan (23). Bangladesh's chances receded sharply after the dismissal of Shakib, caught by wicket-keeper Tatenda Taibu while attempting to cut Chigumbura. Zimbabwe were earlier struggling at 94-5 after being put in to bat, but Chigumbura propped up the innings with a responsible knock under pressure. He hit five fours and a straight six off debutant seamer Mahbubul Alam in the last over before being run out. Bangladesh never allowed Zimbabwe to build a big partnership with their tidy bowling, with left-arm spinner Shakib and off-spinner Naeem Islam (3-32) doing the maximum damage. Stuart Matsikenyeri was Zimbabwe's second-highest contributor with a 51-ball 39, which included six fours. SCOREBOARD ZIMBABWE: H. Masakadza c S. Hasan b Mortaza 16 V. Sibanda lbw b S. Hasan 15 S. Matsikenyeri c R. Hasan b Naeem 39 T. Taibu c Mortaza b Naeem 17 S. Williams lbw b S. Hasan 3 K. Dabengwa c and b Naeem 10 E. Chigumbura run out 64 P. Utseya c Alam b S. Hasan 9 R. Price c S. Hasan b Mortaza 17 T. Mupariwa not out 1 E. Rainsford not out 0 EXTRAS (lb3, w11) 14 TOTAL (for nine wickets) 205 Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Masakadza), 2-53 (Sibanda), 3-88 (Taibu), 4-94 (Matsikenyeri), 5-94 (Williams), 6-123 (Dabengwa), 7-155 (Utseya), 8-185 (Price), 9-204 (Chigumbura). BOWLING: Mortaza 10-0-41-2 (w1) Alam 10-1-66-0 (w7) N. Hossain 4-0-24-0 (w1) S. Hasan 10-3-23-3 Naeem Islam 10-0-32-3 (w2) Ashraful 4-1-9-0 M. Hossain 2-0-7-0. Overs: 50 BANGLADESH: Tamim Iqbal run out 13 Junaid Siddique lbw b Utseya 0 Mushfiqur Rahim b Rainsford 0 Mohammad Ashraful c Sibanda b Utseya 18 Shakib Al Hasan c Taibu b Chigumbura 52 Raqibul Hasan b Dabengwa 23 Mehrab Hossain st Taibu b Price 2 Naeem Islam run out 21 Mashrafe Mortaza run out 3 Mahbubul Alam c Matsikenyeri b Price 22 Nazmul Hossain not out 3 EXTRAS (b1, lb3, w6) 10 TOTAL (for all out) 167 Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Siddique), 2-10 (Rahim), 3-32 (Iqbal), 4-33 (Ashraful), 5-92 (R. Hasan), 6-95 (M. Hossain), 7-126 (S. Hasan), 8-138 (Mortaza), 9-146 (Naeem). BOWLING: Rainsford 6-0-26-1 (w1) Utseya 10-3-22-2 Mupariwa 5-0-29-0 (w1) Dabengwa 10-0-30-1 (w1) Price 9.2-1-35-2 Chigumbura 6-0-21-1 (w3). Overs: 46.2 Result: Zimbabwe win by 38 runs Man of the match: Elton Chigumbura (ZIM) Toss: Bangladesh Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WIS) and Nadir Shah (BAN) TV umpires: A.F.M. Akhtaruddin (BAN) Match referee: Alan Hurst (AUS) Next match: Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe (Monday).