The district and tehsil bar associations across Punjab elected new office bearers during annual elections held here on Saturday.

According to details, in Multan, members of the District Bar Association Multan (DBAM) elected Khalid Ashraf Khan as their president for the term 2015-2016 as he defeated two other contestants in election held here on Saturday, said the unofficial result.

He secured 825 votes while his nearest opponent Waseem Mumtaz got 518 and Saleem Khan stood third with 482 votes.

Similarly, Khalid Masood Ghani defeated four other contenders and won General Secretary seat. He got 743 votes while the runner up Azra Baloch secured 458, Sajid Bashir 201, Anees Mehdi 309 and Faya Khan 100.  

A total of 20 aspirants were vying for six seats and 1837 out of 3760 registered voters used their right to vote to elect their representatives.

The elections remained peaceful and no untoward incident took place. Police made strict security arrangements as heavy contingents were deployed in and around district court premises. The polling started at 9:00 and continued till 4:00pm.

The Vice President seat was clinched by Syed Waheed Raza Gillani who got 690 votes while his nearest opponent Sheikh Khalid Hakeem got 614, Ayyaz Durrani 218, Rana Adeer 114 and Shahid Sultan 182.

The winner on Joint Secretary seat Syeda Zile Fatima got record 1015 votes and won election. Her runner up, another female candidate, Sadia Irum Rao got 782 votes.

The counting of votes for the election of Finance and Library Secretaries as well as 10 members of executive council was underway till filing of this report.

In Sangla Hill, annual elections of the Sangla Hill Bar Association were held here in which Malik Salabat Awan was elected as president by securing 72 votes while Intizar Ahsan Pano was elected as secretary general with 62 votes.

Out of total 153 votes, 123 were cast in the elections. Arafat Zulifqar was elected Vice president, Ausaf Saeed Wahla was Joint Secretary, Talib Husain Saleemi was library secretary and Syed Buniyad Ali Shah was elected as finance secretary unopposed.

After his victory, Malik Salabat Awan told The Nation that he would struggle for the supremacy of law and welfare of the lawyers, adding that it was the day of judiciary’s victory. He said he would try his best to resolve the issues of the legal fraternity, with special focus on welfare of fellow members.

In Chiniot, annual elections of the District Bar Association (DBA) were held here to elect new office bearer. According to the results, Riaz Ahmad Langrial was elected as President of DBA with 161 votes while his rival Hassan Jafari got 124 votes.

Similarly Rana Qaisar Bashir was elected General Secretary. Both of the winning candidates are belonging to Ghulam Mohammad Nissuana Group.

In Toba Tek Singh, annual elections of the District bar Association were held here on Saturday wherein new office bearers were elected. The elected office bearers are: Asghar Ali Chaudhry was elected as the new president), Tariq Mahmood Gujjar was elected vice president, Haji Abdul Sattar was elected general secretary, Bahzad Sarwar joint secretary, Salman Razzaq finance secretary and Ms Saba Bano was elected librarian for the year 2015.

Newly-elected Executive Committee members include Mehr Abid Sipra, Nadim Zarnab, Tahir Khan, Tajammal Nafees, Muhammad Afzal, Muhammad Nawaz, Wajahat Abbas Najfi, Fahad Aslam, Akbar Sultan and Sadaf Siddiq. Out of total 515 voters, 430 votes were cast.