Quetta - Balochistan National Party (BNP-Awami) candidate Akbar Shah won the Senate's vacant general seat from Balochistan. This seat was fallen vacant because of resignation of Sana Baloch, the leader of BNP (Mengal) against the military operation in Balochistan. Voting for the seat was held in the building of Balochistan Assembly. Election Commissioner Balochistan Sono Khan Baloch supervised the election, which continued from 9 am to 4 pm. There were four contestants for the seat but ANP withdrew its candidate Abdul Jabbar Kakar before the election. Both ANP and JUI-F decided to support the candidate of BNP (Awami). Other candidates who were in the field included Syed Akbar Shah of BNP (Awami), Babar Baloch (Independent) and Mir Baz Muhammad Kehtran of PPP. Out of 65 candidates, 60 members of Balochistan Assembly cast their votes. The members who did not cast their votes were Chief Minister Nawab Muhammad Aslam Raisani, Doctor Ruqqia Saeed Hashmi, Tariq Magsi, Sardar Yar Muhammad Rindh and Syed Matiullah Agha. Two votes were declared invalid. While out of remaining 58 votes Syed Akbar Shah bagged 23 votes and he was declared winner.  While Babar Baloch and Mir Baz Muhammad Kehtran obtained respectively 20 and 15 votes. Following winning of Syed Akbar Shah the number of members of BNP (Awami) in Senate rose to two. Talking to newsmen after election, Syed Akbar Shah said that he would continue the legal struggle for the rights of Balochistan in Senate. He thanked the parties and their members who cast their votes in his favour.