LAHORE- Unlike the last cabinet of the Shahbaz Sharif government, the volume of the provincial cabinet this time round is quite huge and covers most of the provincial parts, including South Punjab.

After ouster of the PPP ministers from the last government of PML-N in Punjab, the size of the cabinet was limited to only seven ministers. However in the first phase of the present Cabinet 21 ministers, including two women, have been inducted. Of these ministers four have been drawn from the last cabinet.

Rana Sanaullah Khan, who belongs to Faisalabad, has returned to the Punjab Assembly for the fifth time. A diehard leaguer, who also served as Punjab Law Minister in the last cabinet, Sana has credit of withstanding the pressure, torture and sufferings of jail during the Musharraf era when he was Parliamentary Leader of the PML-N in the Punjab Assembly.

Sanaullah is a highly trusted friend of the Sharifs and has a big say in the party and government matters. In the last tenure, he effectively countered the onslaught of the PPP-led opposition on the government and this time as a senior minister he is expected to play a significant role too. It will not be wrong to put Sanaullah second to the chief minister in the existing set-up of the provincial government. His role will be vital in the next local bodies elections.

Lahore-based Mian Mujataba Shujaur Rahman is son of former lord mayor Lahore Mian Shujaur Rahman. His present victory is the third in a row after being elected to the assembly in 2002 for the first time. He was minister for education and excise and taxation in the last government and he also presented the Punjab budget in 2012. Mujataba, 46, has done MBA and could prove quite handy for the government to deal with financial matters.

Malik Nadeem Kamran, who hails from Sahiwal, has been elected to the Punjab Assembly for third time after 1997 and 2008 elections. Coming from a family of entrepreneurs he had been given the portfolio of food in the last cabinet. He took his rise in politics from the local bodies elections in 1991.

Malik Muhammad Iqbal Chunnar, 63, who belongs to an agricultural family of Bahawalpur, has returned to the Punjab Assembly for a third time. Chunnar, a law graduate, had served as minister for special education as well as jails in the last cabinet. Last time some vital development projects in South were initiated on his demand. His role cannot be discounted if the government decides on Bahawalpur province.

Rana Mashhood Ahmad Khan is the former deputy speaker of the Punjab Assembly. Lahore-based Mashhood is a Supreme Court lawyer, who has been elected to the assembly consecutively for the third time. Mashhood who belongs to a family of lawyers, had also served as the LHCBA secretary. The party leadership picked him up for election contest in the face of severe opposition by a section of his electorate but he lived up to leadership expectations and silenced his detractors.

Bilal Yasin, nephew of Begum Kulsoom Nawaz, was elected MNA from NA-120 Lahore in the election 2008, when he previously got elected an MPA. In the last elections he contested from PA seat from the subordinate constituency of NA-120 which was contested by PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif. Bilal Yasin, 43, is a graduate and belongs to a businessmen family. He has served as member Standing Committee on Home Affairs of the National Assembly.

Asif Saeed Manais from Vehari is son of former PA speaker Saeed Ahmad Manais. He has been elected to the assembly consecutively for the third time. He comes from an agricultural class of southern Punjab region. Manias had won the election 2008 as an independent candidate and joined PML-N along with his father in 2012.

Atta Muhammad Manika from Pakpatttan belongs to a political family. Maneka, 66, was also elected MNA and twice MPA. In the election 2008, he was elected on a PML-Q ticket but soon he developed differences with that party’s leadership and formed a forward bloc in the Punjab Assembly which provided all important support to the PML-N government whenever the PPP tried to outnumber strength of this party in the Punjab Assembly. Maneka is one of the few members of the forward bloc who were granted ticket by the N-League after they joined this party.

Raja Ishfaq Sarwar, 56, who belongs to Murree district Rawalpindi, has previously served as provincial minister. He is vice president PML-N Punjab and also served as provincial secretary of the party. An old Muslim leaguer, Raja Ashfaq has been elected for the sixth time though he did not contest election in 2002 and 2008.

Col (retired) Shuja Khanzada from Toba Tek Singh has credit of being awarded Tamgha-e-Basalat and serving as military attache in the US. First time he was elected MPA in 2002 and was made special assistant in Ch Pervez Elahi-led government. He contested election 2008 on a PML-N ticket and won. His grandfather has also served as member Indian Legislative Assembly.

Tanvir Aslam Malik, from Chakwal has returned to the Punjab Assembly for the third time. Tanvir, 43 is an MBA who also served as Parliamentary Secretary for Services and General Administration.

Begum Zakiya Shahnawaz, who has returned to the PA on reserved seat, is a veteran Muslim Leaguer. She belongs to Lahore and had previously served as adviser to the Chief Minister Punjab. Zakaya also President PML-N Women Wing, Punjab, is highly respected in the Party.

Miss Hamida Waheed-ud-Din from Mandi Bahauddin has been elected on general seat. She had contested and won the election 2002 on PML-Q ticket but later she joined the N-League. Her father Mian Waheeduddin was also an MPA.

Tahir Khalil Sindhu, is a minority MPA. In the last government of Shahbaz Sharif he served as Parliamentary Secretary and is regarded a vocal member of the N-League.

Abdul Waheed Chaudhary, belongs to Multan. Waheed, 47, relates to agricultural class. He was first time elected to the Punjab Assembly in 2008 election. Sports is his special interest.

Dr Farrukh Javed, who belongs to Pakpattan (Arifwala) has returned to the PA third time. His brother was also an MPA. Dr Furrukh is also an MRCP from Royal College, UK.

Mian Yawar Zaman is from Okara and has reached the PA third time. He is a graduate and belongs to Agricultural class. His family is known well in the regional politics.

Sher Ali Khan hails from Attock. An Aitchisonian, he had contested the election 2008 as PML-Q candidate but later on he joined PML-N. He has good political background as his father Sardar Sir Muhammad Nawaz Khan had served as Member Legislative Assembly besides serving as Governor West Pakistan.

Syed Haroon Ahmed Sultan, who hails from Muzaffargarh and is an MBA from the UK. He was a minister in Ch Pervez Elahi cabinet however he contested the election 2008 as an independent candidate. Later he joined the PML-N.

Chaudhary Muhammad Shafique belongs to Rahim Yar Khan, while Asif Malik, belongs to Attock and has longtime affiliation with the PML-N.