LAHORE - The chief justice-designate of the Lahore High Court, Justice Kh Imtiaz Ahmad, is expected to take oath during the ongoing week.

On May 27, 2014, Chief Justice of Pakistan Tasadduq Hussain Jillani nominated Justice Khawaja Imtiaz Ahmad as new the LHC chief justice. Justice Kh Imtiaz Ahmad was born on March 30, 1953, in Pind Dadan Khan. He passed matriculation examination from Government High School, Pind Dadan Khan, district Jhelum.

After doing LLB from Baha-ud-Din Zakariya University, Multan, he was enrolled as an advocate in 1980 and practised at Pind Dadan Khan. He was appointed as additional district and sessions judge in 1992 and promoted as district and sessions judge in 2000.

He received training at National Institute of Public Administration, Lahore, Staff College, Lahore, Federal Judicial Academy, Islamabad, and attended Shariah course in International Islamic University, Islamabad. He was elevated as an additional judge of the Lahore High Court on September 15, 2009, and as a permanent judge on September 5, 2011. Since he had down-to-earth approach, everyone in the legal fraternity considers him as a really competent, honest and hardworking judge.

Our staff reporter adds from Islamabad: The parliamentary committee on judges' appointment in the superior courts Tuesday made three important decisions, including approval of appointment of Athar Minallah as Islamabad High Court judge.

In addition to that, the committee approved the appointment of senior judge of Lahore High Court (LHC) Justice Khawaja Imtiaz Ahmad as the chief justice of Lahore High Court. The committee also endorsed elevation of incumbent Chief Justice of Lahore High Court Umar Ata Bandial to the Supreme Court of Pakistan.

The committee, which met with Senator Rafique Rajwana in chair, gave these approvals in the light of decisions taken by the Supreme Court's judicial commission on judges appointment.

Athar Minallah was the spokesman of former CJP Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry during the movement for restoration of judiciary in 2007.