LAHORE - President PML-N Shehbaz Sharif on Sunday appeared before the parliamentary board and expressed his desire to contest from three NA constituencies of Karachi.

PML-N’s Parliamentary Board held its sixth meeting on Sunday at party’s Model Town office here. PML-N President Mian Shehbaz Sharif and party’s supreme leader Mian Nawaz Sharif interviewed candidates form Lahore and other districts.

According to PML-N sources, the board allowed Shehbaz Sharif to contest election from NA-248, NA-249 and NA-250, the three constituencies from Karachi.

Besides, the PML-N President is also planning to contest election from Lahore, Dera Ghazi Khan and Swat.

Maryam Nawaz Sharif and Hamza Shehbaz also appeared before the parliamentary board on Sunday. Hamza is contesting from NA-124 (Lahore) while Maryam has filed nomination papers from NA-127.

A decision about her contesting election from NA-125 (Lahore) is yet to be made.

Khawaja Saad Rafique has obtained nomination papers for two constituencies - NA-129 and NA-131. He will file his papers on Monday (today).

Describing his dilemma about contesting elections this time, Saad Rafique on Sunday said that his old constituency (NA-125) had been split into NA-129, NA-131 and NA-132; and now he was in a fix from where to file the nomination papers.

Sources said that when Shehbaz Sharif appeared before the board, the members asked him about his performance in Punjab Assembly and his development vision for future. “I believe only in public service,” he replied.

Speaking on the occasion, Nawaz Sharif praised Shehbaz Sharif’s performance in Punjab, stating it was due to his strategy and development work that party was still intact.

Nawaz believed that people doing politics on South Punjab province won’t succeed.

“They stand exposed now. All these conspiracies have been foiled due to good governance of Shehbaz Sharif,” he said.



PML-N leader Maryam Nawaz filed nomination papers from National Assembly constituency NA-127 on Sunday for her entry in electoral politics in upcoming general elections scheduled for July 25.

Daughter of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif filed nomination papers through her representative Tanvir Zia Butt with Returning Officer. Candidates continued submitting/filing nomination papers from different NA and provincial constituencies in Lahore. The offices of ROs for 14 NA and 30 provincial constituencies remained open even on a holiday, the penultimate day for filing nomination papers. The process will conclude on Monday (today), the last day for filing nomination papers.

PTI’s Shafqat Mahmood filed nomination papers from NA-130, Ijaz Diyal from NA-128, Ijaz Chaudhry NA-133, Abdul Aleem Khan NA-129 and NA-131, PML-N’s Pervaiz Malik and Zaeem Hussaiun Qadri NA-125, PPP’s Aziz-ur-Rehman Chan NA-123, Rana Mashood Ahmed PP-149, PTI’s Khalid Mehmood Ghurki PP-153, Yasir Gilani PP-144, Ghazali Saleem Butt PP-144, Hina Pervaiz Butt PP-158 and PP-159, Faisal Ayub Khokhar PP-161, Akhtar Hussain PP-168 and PP-169, Shehzad Gujjar PP-154, Aziz-ur-Rehman PP-156, Nadeem Abbas Bara PP-161  and Shahbaz Bhatti from PP-153.  PTI’s Abdul Aleem Khan and Shoaib Siddiqi filed nomination papers from four provincial constituencies-PP-148, PP-157, PP-158 and PP-162. Hamza Shahbaz Sharif obtained nomination papers from NA-132 and Kh Saad Rafiq from NA-134.