JAWAD R AWAN, MIAN SIDDIQUE SADIQ and Bari Baloch LAHORE/JHANG/QUETTA - PML-N won by-election of NA-123 as its candidate Pervez Malik knocked out his opponents by a wide margin. PML-N also scored victory in PP-82 by-election in Jhang; while PPP won PB-25 seat in Jaffarabad and PML-Zia candidate won PP-284 by-election in Bahawalnagar. In Lahore, Pervez Malik bagged 44,547 votes, while his runner-up PTIs Mian Hamid Mairaj secured 9,304 votes and JIs Hafiz Salman Butt who also enjoyed the support of PML-Q secured only 3,275 votes, according to unofficial results on Wednesday. The Supreme Court on March 9, 2010 had ordered to withhold the election results in reply to a petition filed seeking postponing of the by-polls in NA-123. There were 57 candidates in the race for the NA-123 but Pervez Malik of PML-N, Mian Hamid Mairaj of PTI and Hafiz Salman Butt of JI were main contestant. However, the unofficial results stated that PML-N candidate despite the low turnout bagged the victory with a big margin against his opponents. The reason for the low turnout was stated the law and order situation owing to the suicide attack at Model Town just two days before. The polling started as per schedule at 8:00 am at all 268 polling station stations. It may be mentioned here that in the beginning the turnout was very low but it gradually gained momentum after 12:00 pm. The day touched its peak just a few hours before end of the polling time. The empty roads were found packed in many localities of the area in the evening especially at the main polling stations of the constituency. The total number of registered voters was 287915 including 161102 male and 126813 women voters. The turnout was more than 20 percent. According to the locals of the area, the turnout among men was between 11 to 14 percent while among women voters it remained between 6 to 9 percent. However, the participation of the active supporters that were found dancing on the beat of drum continuously added colour to the festivity. Special security arrangements were made to ensure law and order situation and in this regard special deployment of rangers, besides the other law enforcing agencies that ensured its patrolling in the areas throughout the day and especially focused 48 polling station that had declared already been sensitive. The camp offices set up by the candidates added more colour to the election festivity aiming provision of guidance to the voters at the polling stations. The entire constituency was giving the reflection of hub for the PML-N backed candidate as all the area was decorated with the banners and hoardings fixed in support of the candidates. Although the three main contestants were in the race besides the total 57 but maximum electoral activity was witnessed at the camps of PML-N candidate. Besides the party workers and office bearers the provincial ministers and chairmen of the task forces remained present in the constituency till the end of the polling time. It is also to be mentioned here that at some of the polling stations few human errors were reported as serial number was found missing on the ballot papers but due to in time intervention of election commission representative the issue was resolved and polling continued peacefully. PTI and JI contenders while levelling serious allegations of rigging against the PML-N candidate said that PML-N candidate freely used state machinery. They termed this act of the government as 'rigging but the PML-N supporters said that PML-N expected victory has made the opponents helpless. Pervez Malik while talking to the media said that they believe in peoples power and not rigging and their opponents always levelled the same charges whenever they lost a seat. The presence of the provincial ministers also helped to motivate the workers. They made their best efforts to bring the people to the polling stations. The polling ended peacefully and soon after the polling the counting was started at the polling stations. However owing to the orders of the court the official result was not announced but the unofficial result confirmed the victory for Pervez Malik. Meanwhile, Hamza Shahbaz Sharif addressing a big gathering of PML-N activists in front of partys election office in NA-123 said that people of this constituency played a tremendous role in providing a thumping majority to Pervez Malik. He said Pervez Malik was a true soldier of PML-N Chief Nawaz Sharif and he would serve the people of this constituency with utmost zeal. Hamza said he along with Pervez Malik would solve all the problems of the people of NA-123 on top priority. In Jhang, PML-N candidate Muhammad Azam Chela won the PP-82 by-poll by obtaining 42,145 votes while PPPs Ghazanfar Ali Jaboana stood second with 30,436 votes. The returning officer on Wednesday evening announced the unofficial results of by-poll after which the PML-N workers started celebrations and brought out a rally led by Punjab Law Minister Rana Sanaullah. Earlier, polling was held in a peaceful manner under tight security arrangements. The Election Commission had set up 127 polling stations and deployed 1,812 staff to facilitate the voters. Polling started at 8 in the morning and ended peacefully at 5 pm. The main contest was between Ghazanfar Jaboana and Azam Chela. The top leadership of both the parties was also present in the constituency and keenly observed the process. Meanwhile, PPP grabbed the PB-25 Jaffarabad-I, as its candidate Sardar Nasir Jamali won the by-poll by securing 27,316 votes. The seat was fallen vacant due to the murder of provincial minister for Excise and Taxation Sardar Rustam Khan Jamali in Karachi in July 2009. A total of 14 candidates contested the by-election; however, 12 of them boycotted the polls after terming the process as rigged. Independent candidate Attaullah Buledi accused the government of using the official machinery in favour of the PPP candidate and claimed that about 200 of his polling agents were kidnapped. Levelling charges of massive rigging, he demanded the Election Commission for cancellation of polling and holding fresh elections in the constituency. According to unofficial reports, PPP candidate Sardar Nasir Jamali secured 27,316 votes while Attaullah Buledi obtained 8,915 votes. The total number of registered voters was 140,857. Earlier, paramilitary personnel were called in for maintaining law and order at 91 polling stations of the constituency. Police arrested 12 men with sticks from Dera Allayar for disturbing the polling process. Menawhile, Chief Minister Nawab Muhammad Aslam Raisani and provincial ministers Sadiq Umrani and Sardar Aslam Bezinjo have congratulated Sardar Nasir Khan Jamali for his success in election. Monitoring Desk adds: In PP-284 in Bahawalnagar, Shahid Anjum of PML-Zia won the seat by obtaining 40,365 votes while PPPs Kashif Naveed received only 21,510 votes.