ISLAMABAD – The Judicial Commission on Saturday recommended the names of six new additional judges for their appointment at the Lahore High Court and two for the Federal Shariat Court.

The names recommended for the appointment at the FSC are Sheikh Ahmed Farooq and Jahangir Arshad. The meeting, chaired by Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry, considered the eight names for the appointment of LHC judges and approved the names of Abdus Sami Khan, Ayesha A Malik, Shahid Waheed, Baqir Ali Najfi, Shujaat Ali Khan and Ibadur Rehman Lodhi.

On the other hand, the matter relating to appointment of Shams Mirza in  LHC was differed and the name of Shahid Karim dropped on recommendation by a sub-committee.

According to sources, Punjab Bar Council had expressed reservations over Shahid Waheed, Shams Mirza and Shahid Karim regarding their appointment as LHC judges.

In view of the PbBC concerns, the chief justice constituted a sub-committee, headed by Justice (r) Chaudhry Ijaz Ahmad and comprising Attorney General for Pakistan Maulvi Anwar-ul-Haq and the bar council representatives Khalid Ranjha and Rai Bashir Ahmad.

The sub-committee on Friday held meeting to examine the credentials of three lawyers. After going through their documents, the committee decided to drop the name of Shahid Karim, while the case relating to Shams Mahmood Mirza had also been deferred.