LAHORE - Despite making huge total holders Rawalpindi Green failed to capitalize on advantage and lost to Lahore Whites in memorable final that produced 626 runs within 5 fours. They lost by four wickets in the final of 11th National Seniors Cricket Cup (North Zone) 2009 at Lahore's Bagh i Jinnah on Saturday, May 9. Former PCB Chairman Khalid Mehmood acted as chief guest of the final in terrific setting while Pakistan national cricket team's coach Intikhab Alam presided over the function. Aizad Sayid, Nazir Junior, Azhar Zaidi, Arif Mughal, Nadeem Ahmed were also present on this occasion Lt. General Absar Hussain-led Rawalpindi Green put up fine batting display after being sent in by Lahore Whites's skipper Ghaffar Kazmi. Raza Butt was their most exciting batsman with 102 not out with the help of six 6's in 312 - 6 in allotted 35 overs. Irfan Bhatti also played handsome strokes to make 119. Mansoob Raza 38, Nadeem Abbasi 27 were other contributors. Muhammad Raza took 3-48 and Ghaffar 2-21. Lahore Whites chased the target with authoritative display with three balls to spare. Their main runs-getters in 314-7 were Dastagir Butt 86* and Naveed Anjum 82. Manzoor Illahi made 24 while Ghaffar and Arshad Raffai made 35 and 32 respectively. Muhammad Fayyaz took 2-54. The most attractive part of the match was the availability of brilliant ICC Elite Umpires Asad Rauf and Aleem Dar, and Ahsan Raza. Aleem represented Lahore Whites while Asad and Ahsan, who suffered injury during Sri Lankan bus attack, were umpires. During concluding ceremony, the chief guest praised the efforts of Pakistan Veteran Cricket Association (PVCA)'s Chairman Fawad Ijaz Khan and Chief Executive Ashiq Qureshi who started the event with only five teams and now 54 clubs were seen in action in North Zone phase. He also awarded Winning trophy and Rs.1,50,000 to White's skipper Ghaffar while Absar received runner-up trophy and Rs.75,000. Raza Butt and Dastagir Butt received Man of the Final Awards of Rs.5000 while Aleem Dar got Rs.10,000 as Player of Event. Rashid Ali (Islamabad Panther), Gen Ahad Najmi (Rawalpindi Green), Mansoob Mirza (Rawalpindi Green) took awards of Rs.7500 as best Wicket Keeper, best bowler and best batsman respectively. It was Lahore Whites' eight triumph after 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007. The Match Referee was Abdul Sami and scorer Abdul Hameed.