DUBAI (Agencies) - Pakistan and Sri Lanka open their rivalry in the one-day series being commence from Friday (today) at the Dubai Sports Stadium, promises fierce competition from two talented sides. The first three matches of 5-match series will be played in Dubai while the fourth one will be held in CBFS Sharjah Stadium and the final match will be in Sheikh Zayed Stadium Abu Dhabi. Misbah was appointed captain for all three formats of the game in June this year after Shahid Afridi retired in protest over being sacked as one-day captain. Misbah hoped Afridi's return will boost Pakistan. "Afridi is a very good all-rounder and whenever he plays he is a threat for the opponents," said Misbah of Afridi who holds the record of the fastest one-day hundred, made off 37 balls against Sri Lanka in 1997. Sri Lanka will also be boosted by the return of their sling-action paceman Lasith Malinga who earlier this year retired from Test cricket, but still poses big threats in limited over matches with his lethal yorkers. "Lasith gives us good bowling support at the top and that is why we have a decent one-day team and had a good one-day series against Australia at home two months ago," said Sri Lankan captain Tillakaratne Dilshan. But Dilshan has no series wins as captain, both in Tests and one-day, since taking over from Kumar Sangakkara in May this year. The 35-year-old opener still believes his team carry some positives from the Test series. "We can carry the positives from the Tests, our bowling is really experienced with Lasith and Dilhara (Fernando), both have played well and our batting is strong, so we have a good chance," said Dilshan. Despite a poor series against Zimbabwe, Shoaib Malik retains his place. Having had so many chances, one feels that with the emergence of a number of young players, Malik needs to perform now to ensure he has a future. For Sri Lanka Lasith Malinga has the ability to take wickets and stop the flow of runs as and when required and there is surely no better death bowler around. If the rest of the squad can provide him with sufficient support then Malinga can seal the deal for Sri Lanka. Squads: Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Shahid Afridi, M Hafeez, Imran Farhat, Younus Khan, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Umar Gul, Aizaz Cheema, Junaid Khan, Sohail Tanvir, Abdul Razzaq, Asad Shafiq. Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan (captain), Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Jeevan Mendis, Kosala Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Thissara Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Dimuth Karunaratne, Dilhara Fernando, Suraj Randiv. First ODI: Nov 11 (Dubai) Second ODI: Nov 14 (Dubai) Third ODI: Nov 18 (Dubai) Fourth ODI: Nov 20 (Sharjah) Fifth ODI: Nov 23 (Abu Dhabi)