Australia continued their dominance over Pakistan with a hard fought five-wicket win in the second day-night international, taking an unbeatable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.  Pakistan blew an opening stand of 126 through openers Sarfraz Ahmed (65) and Ahmed Shahzad (61) and were bowled out for 215 in 49.3 overs with paceman Mitchell Johnson taking 3-40.

Glenn Maxwell then punished the sloppy Pakistan fielding with an 81-ball 76 as Australia reached the target in 43.2 overs for their fourth consecutive one-day series win over Pakistan. Maxwell added an invaluable 85 for the fourth wicket with skipper George Bailey (28) steadying the chase after Pakistan dismissed Aaron Finch (14), David Warner (29) and Steven Smith (12) to leave Australia wobbling at 72-3.

But Pakistan spurned a good chance of dismissing the dangerous Maxwell on five when Umar Akmal dropped him in slip off debutant Raza Hasan. Hasan was also unlucky in the early overs when Fawad Alam let off Warner on ten, making Pakistan’s defence of a modest target tough. Maxwell took advantage of the let off, reaching his eighth half-century off 56 deliveries.

Maxwell continued to punish the bowlers after Bailey was run out. With 38 needed off 81 balls, he holed out off Zulfiqar Babar. He hit nine boundaries and a six to anchor the chase. James Faulkner (26 not out) and Brad Haddin (17 not out) ensured Australia didn’t lose trackand secured the win. It was Johnson who derailed Pakistan’s innings with some fiery bowling.

Ahmed and Shahzad who put on a rare 126-run stand for the opening wicket but Australia hit back to take the last nine wickets for a mere 89 runs. Johnson, who took 3-24 in Australia’s 93-run win in the first one-day, put the brakes on the innings dismissing Ahmed, Umar Akmal (five) and Shahid Afridi (two) in a destructive 10-over spell.

Pakistan, who won the toss and batted, cruised to their first century stand in 44 innings as Ahmed and Shahzad batted with authority against a spin-cum-pace attack. Ahmed, promoted to open the innings in this series, reached his maiden half-century off 60 balls while Shahzad needed 63 balls for his eighth such 50. He hit five boundaries and a six off 72 balls.

Shahzad hit five boundaries in his 82-ball knock.

Pakistan’s last opening stand century in a one-dayer was between Mohammad Hafeez and Nasir Jamshed against India at Kolkata in January 2013. As Pakistan tried to build on the opening stand, out-of-form skipper Misbah-ul Haq was run out by a brilliant throw from covers by Maxwell after making just 15. Pakistan couldn’t recover from the jolt as Asad Shafiq (29) and Fawad Alam (20 not out) laboured through their innings.

Pakistan managed just 29 runs in the final ten slog overs. The third and final one-day match will be played in Abu Dhabi on Sunday.



Ahmed Shahzad c Smith b Doherty    61

Sarfraz Ahmed c Maxwell b Johnson    65

Asad Shafiq c Johnson b Lyon    29

Misbah-ul Haq run out    15

Umar Akmal c Smith b Johnson    5

READ MORE: A leather jacket

Fawad Alam not out    20

Shahid Afridi c Smith b Johnson    2

Wahab Riaz b Richardson    2

Raza Hasan run out    0

Zulfiqar Babar c Maxwell b Faulkner    6

M Irfan run out    0

EXTRAS: (lb2, w8)    10

TOTAL: (all out, 49.3 overs)    215

FOW: 1-126, 2-130, 3-159, 4-168, 5-185, 6-199, 7-203, 8-204

BOWLING: Johnson 10-0-40-3, Richardson 9.3-0-43-1, Doherty 10-0-44-1, Faulkner 7-0-27-1,


D Warner c Irfan b Hasan    29

A Finch c Ahmed b Irfan    14

S Smith c Ahmed b Babar    12

G Bailey run out    28

G Maxwell c Shafiq b Babar    76

J Faulkner not out    26

B Haddin not out    17

EXTRAS: (lb3, w12)    15

TOTAL: (5 wkts; 43.2 overs)    217

FOW: 1-22, 2-39, 3-72, 4-157, 5-178

BOWLING: Hasan 10-0-68-1, Irfan 9.2-0-42-1, Babar 10-1-52-2, Afridi 10-0-36-0, Riaz 2.2-0-7-0, Shahzad 1.4-0-9-0

RESULT: Australia win by five wickets

TOSS: Pakistan

UMPIRES: Shozaib Raza (PAK) and Nigel Llong (ENG)

TV UMPIRE: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

MATCH REFEREE: Javagal Srinath

Lyon 10-0-40-1, Maxwell 3-0-19-0

TOSS: Pakistan

UMPIRES: Shozaib Raza (PAK) and Nigel Llong (ENG)

TV UMPIRE: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

MATCH REFEREE: Javagal Srinath