ISLAMABAD - The election tribunals on Thursday started hearing appeals against the decisions of returning officers regarding scrutiny of nomination papers for the general elections.

The seven-day process is to continue till Wednesday. The three-day period for the candidates to file appeals against the ROs decisions ended on Wednesday. The Election Commission has nominated 22 judges of Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa High Courts to head election tribunals. Nine benches are set up for this purpose. Of the 22 HC judges, the judges of Lahore High Court are Justice Rauf Ahmed Sheikh, Justice Mamoon Rashid Sheikh, Justice Ijaz Ahmed, Justice Ibad-ur-Rehman Lodhi, Justice Nasir Saeed Sheikh, Justice Shahid Waheed, Justice Khawaja Imtiaz Ahmed, Justice Khalid Mehmood Khan, Justice Amin-ud-Din Khan and Justice Muhammad Ameer Bhatti.

The Sindh High Court judges are Justice Ahmed Ali Shaikh, Justice Salahuddin Panhwar, Justice Riazat Ali Sahar, Justice Faisal Arab, Justice Ghulam Sarwar Korai and Justice Munib Akhtar. The Balochistan High Court judges are Justice Naeem Akhtar Afghan, Justice M Hashim Khan Kakar and Justice Muhammad Noor Meskanzai.

The names of Peshawar High Court judges are Justice Mian Fasih-ul-Mulk, Justice Mazhar Alam Miankhel and Justice Irshad Qaiser.