ISLAMABAD Expressing solidarity with the flood-affected people, members of the Upper House of the Parliament have donated one and a half months salary and called upon the well-off people and philanthropists to generously help the people who lost their dear ones, valuable things and properties in the recent calamity throughout the country. Detailed instructions in this regard have been issued by the Chairman Senate Farood H Naek to immediately start relief work and a Special Committee was constituted to procure and distribute relief goods in the devastated areas of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan, Punjab and Sindh. Deputy Chairman Senate, Mir Jan Muhammad Jamali and Leader of the House in the Senate Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari jointly chaired a meeting of the committee at the Parliament House, Wednesday, and discussed the ways and means to expedite the process of procurement and distribution of relief goods in the flood-ravaged areas of the country. It was observed that the floods had caused large-scale destruction and more coordinated efforts were required in relief and rehabilitation activities. The meeting also underlined the need for provision of more food, medicines and tents etc to enable the people to survive and start a routine life. Senators Mrs Kalsoom Perveen and Mrs Suraya Amir Uddin were given the responsibility to oversee the relief work in Balochistan and Sindh respectively whereas Senator Mrs Saeeda Iqbal was tasked to monitor distribution of relief goods in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa besides Mianwali, Bakhar etc. Earlier, Secretary Senate, Raja Muhammad Amin informed the Committee about the amount collected so far. He assured the committee that a transparent mechanism would be adopted to procure and distribute the relief goods. He further informed that Members of the Upper House were taking keen interest and were donating with great enthusiasm. Besides Deputy Chairman Senate Mir Jan Muhammad Jamali and Leader of the House in the Senate Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari, the meeting was also attended by Senators Mrs. Kalsoom Perveen, Mrs. Suraya Amir Uddin and Mrs. Saeeda Iqbal. Secretary Senate Raja Muhammad Amin, Additional Secretary Senate Amjad Pervaiz and senior Officers of the Senate Secretariat were also present.