ISLAMABAD - The Parliamentary Committee on Electoral Reforms in its second meeting held in Parliament House on Monday finalised the terms of reference (ToRs) and working mode and the same would be approved today (Tuesday).
Held under the chair of Finance Minister Senator Ishaq Dar the meeting reviewed the clause-wise review of all the rules and regulations and unanimously finalised them. As some of the members were not in attendance, the matter of its approval was deferred for a day and now the committee would formally approve the terms of reference of the committee today (Tuesday).
The members belonging to various political parties including Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf were present in the meeting.
Talking to media persons after the meeting, Dar said that it was a big achievement that the committee has unanimously approved the rules and procedure and hoped that the same unanimity would prevail during its deliberations as all the parliamentary parties wanted to see the electoral system in the country free from all sorts of anomalies to ensure free and fair elections.
Dar said that approval of rules and regulations of the working of committee would be carried out in tomorrow’s (Tuesday) meeting.
Responding to a question about the PTI planned Azadi March he said that there is no objection in holding peaceful long march as it was scheduled on a public holiday.
The 33-member committee have 22 members from the National Assembly while 11 members were taken from the Upper House of the Parliament.
The MNAs in the committee include MNA Zahid Hamid (PML-N), MNA Anusha Rehman Khan Advocate (PML-N), MNA Lt Gen (Retd) Abdul Qadir Baloch (PML-N), MNA Murtaza Javed Abbasi (PML-N), MNA Abdul Hakeem Baloch (PML-N), MNA Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhry (PML-N), MNA Abdul Rahim Mandokhail (PkMAP), MNA Naeema Kishwar Khan (JUI-F), MNA Ghulam Murtaza Khan Jatoi (NPP), MNA Ghaus Bux Khan Mahar (PML-F), MNA Syed Ghazi Ghulab Jamal (IND), MNA Usman Khan Tarakai (AJI), MNA Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao (PPP-S), MNA Ejazul Haq (PML-Z), MNA Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed (AML), MNA Syed Naveed Qamar (PPP), MNA Shazia Mari (PPP), MNA Sahibzada Tariq Ullah (JI), MNA Shafqat Mehmood (PTI), MNA Dr Shireen Mazari (PTI), MNA Dr Arif Alvi (PTI), and MNA Dr Muhammad Farooq Sattar (MQM).
The list of senators in the committee include Senator Ishaq Dar, Senator Malik Muhammad Rafique Rajwana, Senator Muhammad Talha Mehmood, Senator Hilalur Rehman, Senator Aitzaz Ahsan, Senator Mian Raza Rabbani, Senator Farooq Hamid Naek, Senator Haji Mohammad Adeel, Senator Mir Israrullah Khan Zehri, Senator Mushahid Hussain Sayed, and Senator Col Syed Tahir Hussain Mashhadi.