Muhammad Hassan

SHERGARH - In a dramatic change in the political scenario of NA-145, four candidates for the Punjab Assembly seat PP-186 which is fall within NA-145, announced joining PML-N and support for the party candidate for NA-145 Brig (r) Javed Hassan Kirmani.

Speaking at a press conference held in Renala Khurd along with Brig (r) Javed here the other day, the four aspirants for the Punjab Assembly seat PP-186 including former MPAs - Rao Ejaz Ali Khan, Dr Chaudhry Mumtaz Ahmad, Rao Zegham Mujtaba and Mehr Muhammad Iqbal Sial announced that all the candidates would accept and support the candidate nominated by Brig (r) Javed for the PP-186.

Responding to questions, Brig (r) Javed claimed sitting PPP MNA from NA-145 and State Minister Samsam Bukhari and MPA from PP-186 were struggling to join the PML-N due to party’s rising popularity among the masses. Contradicting the claims made by former MNA Syed Gulzar Sabtain Shah that he would get PML-N’s ticket from NA-145, the former military secretary to the PML-N’s chief said that Nawaz Sharif could never award a ticket to “the supporters of Musahharf and Zardari.” Declaring that his party would make final nominations for tickets after the announcement of the elections schedule, he claimed that he would be the PML-N nominee from NA-145.

Speaking on the occasion PML-N Okara district President Syed Zahid Gilani said that Okara had become a stronghold of PML-N due party’s positive and reconciliatory policies, adding that his party would sweep the district in the general elections. Advising the opponents to read the writing on the wall after the recently held by-elections, he said that only Nawaz Sharif could steer the country out of its complex problems.

Addressing the mediamen, PML-N District General Secretary Syed Ashiq Hussain Kirmani said that the party leadership had categorically made it clear that no turncoat would be allowed in the PML-N. He said the people who now want to join PML-N had strengthened Musharraf’s rule in 2002. PML-N’s workers would not let ‘supporters of Musharraf or Zardari enter the party’, he added.

PML-N local leaders Mehr Nasir Sial, Rana Nazir Ahmad, Haji Javed Iqbal, Malik Abdul Hafeez Awan, Rana Ehtsham, Aslam Bakhtiar Kamboh, Rao Khurram Shah Nawaz Khan, Ch Muhammad Arshad and former advisor to CM Syed Shaukat Hussain Kirmani were also present on the occasion.