ISLAMABAD - Aqeel Khan and Ushna Suhail clinched the 2nd Benazir Bhutto (Shaheed) International Tennis Championship 2016 men’s and ladies singles titles here at Islamabad Tennis Complex on Sunday.

In the men’s singles final, Aqeel taught tennis lesson to Davis Cupper Shahzad Khan as he ousted Shahzad 3-0 in best of 5-set final while experienced international player Ushna Suhail had to dig deep to overcome spirited 14-year-old Mahin Aftab in the ladies singles final, winning it 7-6 (4) and 6-3.

Aqeel started the first set on a very high pace and raced onto take 2-0 lead after breaking very first game of Shahzad and then held onto his serve. He continued piling pressure through his forehand and backhand drives to win the first set 6-2 by breaking 5th game of Shahzad. Aqeel also played superbly in the second set and broke 5th game of Shahzad to take it 6-4.

The No 1 veteran player continued to show his class and supremacy and was playing world class tennis. He broke 3rd and 5th games of Shahzad to take the third set 6-2 and thus won the second edition in running and added another father to his already decorated cap. The final lasted for around 1 hour and 45 minutes.

In ladies singles final, Ushna defeated young Mahin Aaftab from Islamabad 7-6(4) 6-3. Mahin took 3-0 lead in the first set by breaking 2nd game of Ushna, who changed the strategy and started playing aggressive game from the baseline and leveled the score at 3-3 by breaking 5th game of Mahin. After that, both the players held on to their respective serves and the set went to 6-6. Ushna won the tiebreaker 7-6 (4) by playing intelligently at this crucial stage.

Ushna played with authority in the second and didn’t allow her opponent to play freely and managed to win the set 6-3 by breaking 7th game of Mahin and won the final in great style. Abdal Haider won the title of junior U-18 singles final against Aman Attique in thrilling three-set match 6-1, 4-6, 6-3.

Aqeel got cash prize of Rs 100,000 along with glittering trophy, which he had to return, as every year the champion would receive the same trophy, named after late prime minister Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto, while Shahzad Khan received Rs 55,000 and runner-up trophy. Ushna was awarded cash prize of Rs 42,000 along with one-time trophy named after BB Shaheed, while Mahin Aftan pocketed Rs 26,000 cash prize and runner-up trophy.

Interestingly, not a single major PPP figure bothered to turn up to witness the final. It was announced at the inaugural ceremony that Sindh Sports Minister will be the chief guest, but despite several assurances, he failed to turn up, while Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah was announced to grace the final as chief guest, but he also didn’t bother to attend the ceremony. Senate chairman Mian Raza Rabbani was also announced to grace the ceremony, but he was also missing. At the end, Senator Taj Haider, who was organising the event, was left with no other option but to announce PTF president Salim Saifullah Khan as chief guest, while Senator Syed Dilawar Abbas, Senator Shibli Faraz, Senator Usman Saifullah, Ambassador of Sri Lanka Johan Alfardo, Khadija Leghari were guests of honour.