OKARA-Three factions of the ruling PML-N are striving for getting their respective candidates nominated for the election of District Council chairman while no other political party is in a position to contest the election.

For the District Council and municipal committees’ elections, nomination papers would be filed in the next few days. PML-N MNA Rao Muhammad Ajmal Khan is struggling to get the chairmanship of the District Council for his son Barrister Rao Saad Ajmal with the collaboration of MNA Ch Riazul Haq Juj.

Similarly, the Gillanis of Hujra Shah Muqeem are also looking for the slot for Muhammad Ali Gillani, the younger brother of newly elevated minister Sayed Raza Ali Gillani. MNAs Syed Ashiq Kirmani, MIan Moeen Khan Wattoo, provincial minister Mian Yawar Zaman, MPAs Mian Munir, Ch Javed Allaudin, Malik Ali Abbas Khokhar, Rai Samina Noor under the headship of MNA CH Nadeem Abbas Rubera are supporting Malik Ali Qadir for the slot.

As a sole aspirant, Rao Ajmal enjoys majority of the voters followed by Ch Nadeem Abbas Rubera and Mian Yawar Zaman. Earlier, it was considered that theGillanis would be at low profile for the chairman election but they are fully in the field. The PML-N parliamentarians of the district under the leadership of Nadeem Abbas Rubera have the majority of the votes for the chairmanship.

MNA Rao Ajmal Khan at the first day of the success of his son Saad Ajmal as unopposed chairman of the UC had started campaign for the biggest slot.

The PTI and PPP had 20 and 19 seats respectively in the district council. The PPP was led by Mian Manzoor Ahmad Wattoo and PTI by Ch Tariq Irshad Khan. Both these parties do not have reasonable strength to contest even jointly for the slot.

Mian Manzoor Ahmad Khan Wattoo would prefer the Gillanis as Wattoo and Rao Ajmal are old rivals in the field. Since July 1982, when Okara was given the status of district, the chairmanship of the District Council for 6 times had been won by the tehsil Depalpur and for one time as district Nazim was taken by (late) Syed Sajjad Haider Kirmani of tehsil Renal Khurd.

All the 3 groups of the PML-N in the district have presented their vote position to the party leadership. The final decision would be taken by the three-member committee comprising Punjab Minister Manshaullah Butt, Samiullah Khan and Saud Majeed. The decision of the committee is expected within next two or three days.

Tribunal de-seats councillor

OKARA - The election tribunal Sahiwal has de-seated a councillor and ordered for re-election in Ward 6 of Municipal Committee (MC) Basirpur.

During the local bodies elections on October 30, 2015, PPP-backed Khalid Imtiaz Wattoo had lost the councillor election against Fayyaz Ahmad Khokhar. The loser filed a petition against the winner on the plea that his votes were unjustifiably not counted and some other election irregularities were not checked by the authority. After the completion of the hearing of the petition, ET judge Rana Zahid Mehmood carried the petition filed by the Wattoo and ordered for the re-election in the ward.