LAHORE – The names of the seven would-be senators of the PML-N have come to the surface after the party leadership deliberated on over 100 applicants, who inspired for representation in the Upper House of the Parliament.

Sources close to top hierarchy of the PML-N confided that the party leadership had almost finalised the name of the ticket holders for four general seats and one each for the seats reserved for technocrats, women and minorities in the Senate for which triennial elections are scheduled for on March 2 to fill in 50 seats.

Sources say for the general seats, the name of former MNA M Hamza, PML-N District Bakkhar President and former MNA Zafarullah Khan Dhandla, Senior Adviser to Punjab Chief Minister Sardar Zulfiqar Khan Khosa and former PML-N Punjab additional general secretary Rafiq Rajana of Multan have been finalised.

Ishaq Dar is again in the run for the technocrat seat from Punjab, while MNA Nuzhat Amir and MPA Kamran Michael have been selected for the women and minorities reserved seats.

This time round, PML-N is getting the dividend of six additional seats against losing one, all from Punjab, on account of highest numerical strength in the Punjab Assembly.

The PML-N, in addition to the PML-F, is also enjoying the support of independent MPAs and the Unification Bloc in the Punjab Assembly. But the party senators will be elected from Punjab only, as it does not have any representation in rest of the three provincial assemblies.

The final ticket holders for the Senate elections are likely to submit their nominations on Sunday (today)..