The candidate of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Muhammad Iqbal Shah, bagged victory in NA-154 by-polls in Lodhran, according to unofficial results on Monday.

Results from 310 polling stations disclosed Shah had bagged 113,542 votes. Behind him was Ali Khan Tareen with 85,933 votes.

Former prime minister Nawaz Sharif telephoned Shahbaz Sharif and congratulated him on the PML-N candidate's victory.

The seat had become vacant after disqualification of PTI leader Jahangir Tareen in offshore companies case. 

The Election Commission of Pakistan had fined both candidates for violating election commission's code of conduct. Ali Tareen was fined Rs40,000 while Shah faced fine of Rs. 30,000.