The District and Tehsil Bars Associations of various districts elected their new office bearers for year 2014 during annual elections held here on Saturday.

According to details, the members of DBA Multan elected Sher Zaman as their president for the term 2014-2015 as he defeated two rivals in the election held here on Saturday. According to unofficial results, Sher Zaman secured 1,170 votes while his nearest opponent Rana Naveed got 790 and Rana Mahboob Alam stood third with 49 votes. Similarly, Muhammad Haseeb Qadir defeated four other contenders and won General Secretary seat. He got 769 votes while the runner up Khalid Ghani secured 524, Faheem Gardezi 450, Ghulam Abbas Raan 203 and Iqbal Shakir Ansari 75. The elections remained peaceful and no untoward incident took place.

Police made strict security arrangements as heavy contingents were deployed in and around district court premises. The polling started at 9:00 and continued till 4:30pm. A total of 2018 voters used their right to vote to elect their representatives. The Vice President seat was clinched by Mazhar Husain Dharala, who got 1368 votes while his opponent Bashir Ahmad Ansari secured 636. The Joint Secretary post was won by Abdul Rauf Niazi, who amassed 1083 votes against his opponent Sabiha Ghauri’s 765. Muhammad Ahmad Noorul Mubeen Khakwani was elected Library Secretary with 742 votes while Qasim Kamboh stood runner up with 650 and Muhammad Akbar Khan third with 574. The counting of votes for the election of Finance Secretary and 10 members of executive council was underway till filing of this report.

In Sheikhupura, the DBA members elected Syed Sajidur Rehman Shah as president of bar and he bagged 423 votes and defeated his rival Sh Abdul Karim who secured 366 votes. The seat of General Secretary was won by Dawood Ahmad Khan with 441 votes against 401 votes of his opponent Mian Liaqat Ali. Similarly, Faisal Maqsood was elected as vice president and he got 420. The ten members of executive body of DBA was elected unopposed.

In Toba Tek Singh, the DBA elected new body during annual election on Saturday. Elected office bearers are: Mian Naveed Mansoor (president), Wajahat Abbas Naqvi (vice president), Shahid Latif Maan (general secretary), Mian Khurram Shahzad Zia (joint secretary), Nadim Zarnab (secretary finance) and Ms Sabir Saba Bano (librarian).

Similarly new elected office bearers of Kamalia TBA are: Munir Ahmad Chaudhry (president), Shafiq Anjum Bhutta (vice president), Pir Muhammad Abbas Bodla (general secretary), Mehr Muhammad Riaz (secretary finance), Amjad Ali Dogar (joint secretary) and Abdul Sattar Niazi (librarian). For Gojra TBA, the counted could not be completed due to a dispute arose over more than polled ballot papers while continued till filing of this report.

Meanwhile, in Wazirabad, the election of TBA was conducted here. As per results, Iftikhar Ahmad Chohan and Saqib Farooq Cheema were elected as president and general Secretary respectively. Iftikhar Ahmad Chauhan bagged 198 votes while his rival Naved Aslam Cheema got 151 votes. Newly elected General Secretary Saqib Farooq Cheema secured 215 votes aginst his rival Imran Akjram Thakra who got 136 votes. 351 votes were polled out of the total 396 votes during the elections.

Other office bearers were already elected unopposed include VP Basharat Ali Sandhu, Joint Secretary Nasir Mehmood Chattha, Library Secretary Zaheer Asghar Varyah and Finance Secretary Junaid Sarwar Cheema.

A 10 members Executive Body has also been elected unanimously.

While in Attock, the annual election of DBA was held here on Saturday at the district bar under the supervision of a three member election committee headed by senior lawyer Khalil Akhtar. As per elections results, Irfanullah Malik was elected the DBA president with 151 votes while his two rivals Sohail Siddique bagged 106 votes and Nosiqa Mumtaz could bag only 10 votes, Madam Mrs Fayaz Iqbal was elected as General Secretary by obtaining 141 votes against 127 votes of his rival Sufi Muhammad Ishfaq. While Kamran Shahzad was elected VP with 146 votes by defeating his opponent Muhammad Ameen. Zehraun Nisa was elected unopposed for the post of Joint Secretary and Syed Bilal Haider was also elected unopposed for the post of Finance secretary. Sardar Hamid Ali Khan was elected secretary Library unopposed as no other aspirant filed nomination against him.