LAHORE - South African umpire Rudi Koertzen of the Elite Panel of ICC Umpires made history when he became the first umpire to stand in 200 One-Day Internationals by umpiring in the second ODI between Ireland and Kenya in Dublin. Koertzen (60) made his international debut on 9 December 1992 in a match between South Africa and India in Port Elizabeth and since then has gone on to become one of the game's most respected officials, also standing in 99 Tests. The second Ashes Test between England and Australia starting at Lord's on 16 July will be Koertzen's 100th Test and will make him only the second umpire after Steve Bucknor (128 Tests and 181 ODIs) to complete the double. A member of the Elite Panel of umpires since 2002, he stood in the 1999, 2003 and 2007 ICC Cricket World Cups (including the Australia - Sri Lanka semi-final in Port Elizabeth in the middle of those three tournaments, which was his 100th ODI) and the ICC World Twenty20 2009 (including the Sri Lanka - West Indies semi-final at The Oval). Koertzen also stood in the 2002, 2004 and 2006 ICC Champions Trophy, the World Cricket Tsunami Appeal match in Melbourne in January 2005 and the Johnnie Walker Super Series Test match between Australia and the ICC World XI in Sydney in October 2005. Commenting on his achievement, Koertzen said: "For someone who started umpiring very late in life, it is a huge personal achievement and a dream come true. It is really a great and satisfying feeling to achieve something as massive as this one. "But this would not have been possible without the support, appreciation and well-wishes of so many people who have been big influences on my career. To begin with, I have to thank God for giving me the health and strength over all these years, then Brian Basson (Operations Manager, Cricket South Africa) who convinced me to hang in when the going was tough, Cricket South Africa for its blessings and lastly the ICC which provided me the wonderful opportunity to be part of our great sport and looking after me so well." Sharing his international journey, Rudi said: "It has been exciting 17 years in the business, one that many would envy I'm sure. Every job has highs and lows and umpiring is no exception. "Umpiring provided me the opportunity to travel country to country, meet amazing people, understand different cultures but most importantly it was a privilege to see young talent of yesterday become stalwarts of today. "In addition to this, I have seen our game get stronger, healthier and change from the usual five-day Test and 50-over format to the third twenty20 version. I think cricket is the only sport which has three different formats. The success and immense popularity of the three formats speak of the health of the game. "While the sport has changed, so have the Laws over the years, I think for the better for the game. I think cricket of today is far more entertaining, challenging, demanding and competitive for the players, organisers and spectators than it was few years ago. "All in all, it has been a very rewarding and a fascinating journey, something that I should be proud of," he said. ICC President David Morgan added his tribute. "Rudi's achievement is by no means a small one and is a result of his tremendous dedication, commitment and fitness. Umpiring is something he wanted to do and his achievements reflect that he has done it with passion and hard work. "It's a matter of great honour for the ICC itself that one of its umpires has reached this landmark. On behalf of the ICC, I would like to congratulate Rudi for serving our great game through his umpiring and being a role model and inspiration for many young up and coming umpires. "I hope he continues to excel in the middle and goes on to umpire in many more matches." To mark the occasion, Koertzen received a trophy from Cricket Ireland (CI) president Arthur Vince on behalf of the International Cricket Council (ICC). Most ODIs appearances by umpires (correct to close of play on 11 July): Rudi Koertzen 200 Steve Bucknor 181 David Shepherd 172 Daryl Harper 158 Darrell Hair 139 Simon Taufel 139 Billy Bowden 132 Aleem Dar 116 Russell Tiffin 108 David Orchard 107 Steve Dunne 100.