President Asif Ali Zardari signed the Amended Contempt of Court Bill 2012 into law.

After go-ahead by President Zardari, the bill became the part of the Constitution in an apparent move vis-à-vis Supreme Court (SC) to save him disqualification in the footsteps of former Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani, who was sent home over contempt charge.

Earlier Wednesday, the Upper House of the Parliament adopted the Contempt of Court Bill 2012 amid a strong protest by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

It should be mentioned here that the bill had already been passed by the National Assembly on Monday. The bill exempts prime minister, governors, chief ministers, federal ministers and state ministers from contempt proceedings over right criticism.