As many 50 Senators took oath as members of the Upper House today. The House is also going to elect its new Chairman and Deputy Chairman today. These members come from all the four provinces, FATA and Federal Capital with 11 each from all the four province, four from FATA and two members from federal capital. The government has appointed Senator Col (r) Tahir Mashhadi of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) as the presiding officer for the polls. The PPP has nominated Farooq Naik and the PML-Q Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain as the candidates for the office of the Senate chairman. For the seat of the Senate deputy chairman, only PML-Q Senator Jan Muhammad Jamali is contesting, as no other party had so far fielded their candidates for the position.