Despite ongoing violence in Karachi during polls, the outgoing ruling PPP has succeeded in securing its old fort of Lyari for the next five years.

According to unofficial results, PPP candidate Shahjahan Baloch has secured 62,000 votes on NA-248 Lyari to defeat MQM’s Nabeel Gabol. Similarly, PPP candidate Sanya Naz Baloch has a clear lead on PS-108 Lyari against candidates from MQM and other groups. Javed Nagori of PPP has a clear lead against his opponents too.

It may be noted here that the MQM in the last moment on evening of the polling day on Saturday announced to boycott election to NA-248 Lyari and two provincial assembly seats PS-108 and PS-109, hurling rigging charges on the PPP.

Besides, PPP’s former MNA Abdul Qadir Patel has succeeded in retaining his victory on NA-239 by securing 38,000 votes against MQM’s Salman Mujahid, who got 34,000 votes. Patel was also elected MNA in 2002 and 2008 elections.

Besides, PML-N candidate Abdul Hakeem Baloch has a lead on NA-258 Malir against PPP’s Raja Razak Baloch. Also, PML-N candidate Haji Shafi Jamote has been learnt to have got majority on PS-129 Malir against Rafiq Jat of PPP.

PPP candidate Muhammad Sajid Baloch has a lead on PS-130 Malir against PML-N’s Raja Ansari and an independent candidate Saleem Baloch. PML-N’s Irfanullah Marwat has a lead on PS-113 Mehmood.

Meanwhile, the PPP has a clear majority on national and provincial assemblies’ seats in interior Sindh. The MQM has succeeded in winning majority of national and provincial assembly seats in Karachi and Hyderabad.

According to unofficial results, MQM’s Nabeel Gabol has won NA-246 Azizabad, stronghold of the party, by securing 187,273 votes against JI’s Rashid Naseem, who got only 8,232 votes.

The constituency of NA-250 Defence and Clifton has been won by MQM’s Khushbakht Shujat by roping in 54,500 votes, while her opponent PTI’s Dr Arif Alvi managed to secure 54,100 votes.

PTI’s Dr Arif sAlvi, MQM`s Khushbakht Shujat and PPP`s Rashid Hussain Rabani were prominent candidates on NA-250, while JI’s Naimaullah Khan boycotted elections in last moments of polling. 

The constituency of NA-253 has been bagged by MQM’s Muzamil Qureshi by clinching 60,000 votes leaving behind PTI’s Ashraf Jabar who scored 14,000 votes. MQM’s Dr Farooq Sattar stood victorious on NA-249 by scoring 49,000 votes. PPP’s Aziz Memon was the first runner-up with 35,000 votes.

JI demands reelection

in Karachi

Jamaat-e-Islami Karachi Amir Hussain Mehanti has demanded reelection in Karachi in the presence of army at each polling booth.

Speaking to sit-in protest staged outside the Election Commission office he announced strike call on Monday against the rigging during polling day at various polling booths.

Mehanti said the move against rigged elections starts from May 11 and it would continue till the end of terrorism, extortionist and stamp mafia. He said MQM hijacked today’s election and also detained the polling staff to stop them reaching their spots.

He JI requests all the transporters, traders and others to play their part during strike against the extortionists and terrorists.