Lahore: Chairman PCB Shaharyar Mohammad Khan has approved the Pakistan squad for the three-match T20I series against England, following the recommendation of the selection committee headed by Haroon Rashid.

The series commences on November 26 at the Dubai International Stadium, followed by the second game at the same venue on Nov. 27 and Sharjah on Nov. 30. Meanwhile, Iftikhar Ahmed has been named as the 16th member of the ODI squad to fill in the slot that fell vacant following Younis Khan’s retirement.

Umar Akmal was in contention for a place in the T20I squad, but he was not considered following the Board issuing him a show cause notice after the press reports revealed that he had brought PCB and Pakistan Cricket into disrepute.

The 16-member T20I Squad:

Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Riffat Ullah Mohmand, Shoaib Malik, Sohaib Maqsood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfraz Ahmed, Anwar Ali, Imad Wasim (Subject to fitness, otherwise Bilal Asif), Imran Khan Junior, Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Amir Yamin.

Chief Selector Haroon Rashid said, “Umar Akmal had been penciled in for selection, but he has subsequently been dropped on instructions from the Board, as he has been issued with a show cause notice for bringing PCB and Pakistan Cricket into disrepute.

“Having experience of playing first class cricket for many years, with his form, sound technique and fitness, and also given his fielding credentials, Riffat Ullah Mohmand has been afforded an opportunity as he was considered to have potential to feature in an international T20 competition as an opener.

“Iftikhar has filled in the spot vacated by Younis Khan in ODIs; it was considered that he also be tried in the T20 format on the back of his performance on the domestic T20 circuit.”