With reference to the letter of Dr. Zaheer Asghar Khan appeared in The Nation on 21.08.09, it is clarified that TV license fee is a government tax levied on broadcast receivers under the Wireless Telegraphy Act 1933 and the same was adopted in 1970 under the "TV Receiving Rules". Pakistan is not the only country collecting this TV license fee. In a number of countries in Europe, Asia, Africa and America, a TV license fee is collected to fund their public television networks. In advanced countries, this fee is approximately 300 Euros per annum which is equivalent to 36,000 rupees whereas the license fee in Pakistan is merely Rs.300/- per annum i.e. equivalent to 2.5 Euros only. An educated person like Dr. Zaheer can update his knowledge on the issue through the internet to have a comparison. -ALI AKBAR ABBAS, Controller Public Relations PTV, Islamabad, via e-mail, September 7.