ISLAMABAD- Parliamentary Committee on Electoral Reforms on Tuesday, besides formally approving the terms of reference, asked the members of the committee to come up with their proposals for bringing reforms in the prevalent electoral system in the country by the first of next month.

The meeting held under the chair of Finance Minister Ishaq Dar here at Parliament House gave formal approval to the terms of reference for the committee and it was unanimously agreed upon in the meeting that all the member parliamentary parties in the committee would furnish their proposals for the electoral reforms. It is also decided that the work done by earlier committee in this connection would also be reviewed along with the proposals and suggestions coming from the political parties. It was further decided that general public should also be asked to give their input to the committee by the first of next month so that at the time of deliberations on the proposals and suggestions coming to the committee from political parties the useful suggestions coming from general public should also be considered. The 33-member committee have 22 members from the National Assembly while 11 members were taken from the Upper House of the Parliament.

The MNAs in the committee include MNA Zahid Hamid (PML-N), MNA Anusha Rehman Khan Advocate (PML-N), MNA Lt Gen (Retd) Abdul Qadir Baloch (PML-N), MNA Murtaza Javed Abbasi (PML-N), MNA Abdul Hakeem Baloch (PML-N), MNA Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhry (PML-N), MNA Abdul Rahim Mandokhail (PkMAP), MNA Naeema Kishwar Khan (JUI-F), MNA Ghulam Murtaza Khan Jatoi (NPP), MNA Ghaus Bux Khan Mahar (PML-F), MNA Syed Ghazi Ghulab Jamal (IND), MNA Usman Khan Tarakai (AJI), MNA Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao (PPP-S), MNA Ejazul Haq (PML-Z), MNA Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed (AML), MNA Syed Naveed Qamar (PPP), MNA Shazia Mari (PPP), MNA Sahibzada Tariq Ullah (JI), MNA Shafqat Mehmood (PTI), MNA Dr Shireen Mazari (PTI), MNA Dr Arif Alvi (PTI), and MNA Dr Muhammad Farooq Sattar (MQM).

The list of senators in the committee include Senator Ishaq Dar, Senator Malik Muhammad Rafique Rajwana, Senator Muhammad Talha Mehmood, Senator Hilalur Rehman, Senator Aitzaz Ahsan, Senator Mian Raza Rabbani, Senator Farooq Hamid Naek, Senator Haji Mohammad Adeel, Senator Mir Israrullah Khan Zehri, Senator Mushahid Hussain Sayed, and Senator Col Syed Tahir Hussain Mashhadi.