ISLAMABAD - The PMDC has initiated disciplinary action against medical and dental institutions without proper facilities.

The Executive Committee, in its meeting on Tuesday, took many important decisions to upgrade the standards of medical and dental education and to maintain quality health provision to general public in order to ensure upgradation of medical and dental colleges.

PMDC President Masood Hameed made public once again those medical and dental colleges whose admissions have been stopped due to gross deficiencies. Al-Razi Medical College Peshawar, Sahiwal Medical College, Mohammad Bin Qasim Dental College Karachi, Bhittai Medical and Dental College Mirpur Khas, Hashmat Medical & Dental College Gujarat, Federal Medical College Islamabad, Mohiuddin Islamic Medical College Mirpur AJK, Abbottabad International Medical College, Independent Medical College Faisalabad, Women Medical College Abbotabad, Pak Red Crescent Medical College Lahore, Benazir Bhutto Shaheed Medical College, Mirpur-AJK, AJK Medical College, Muzaffarabad-AJK. These colleges are not allowed to admit students until the rectification of their deficiencies.

The committee also decided to call upon the owners/principles of the following medical and dental college, which do not have their own teaching hospitals including Wah Medical College Peshawar, Altamash Institute of Dental Medicine, Bahria University Medical College Karachi, Foundation University Medical College, Rawalpindi, CMH Lahore Medical College, Lahore, Institute of Dentistry ,CMH Lahore Medical College, Jinnah Medical College Peshawar, Central Park Medical College Lahore, Continental Medical College Lahore, Islamabad Medical and Dental College Islamabad, University College of Medicine and Dentistry Lahore, Islamic International Medical College Rawalpindi, Margalla College of Dentistry Rawalpindi.

As after December 2014, if these colleges/institutions will fail to have their own teaching hospitals as per PMDC rules section 12 subsections 4 of Medical and Dental Institutions Recognition, Eligibility Criteria for Enhancement in Annual Admissions and Accreditation standards Regulations 2012, shall be derecognised in the prescribed manner.