MIRPUR (AJK) - Renowned businessman of Srinagar and former President of the Occupied Kashmir Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Dr Mubeen Ahmed Shah was unanimously chosen as new President of Jammu and Kashmir Joint Chamber of Commerce and Industry - a representative body of business interests representing all regions on both sides of the Line of Control in Jammu and Kashmir, an AJK-based spokesperson of the Chamber announced here on Friday.

The process of choosing the new president of Jammu and Kashmir Joint Chamber of Commerce and Industry (JK-JCCI) was completed under subsection (G) of section 4 of Istanbul Agreement of November 2011 signed 17 principal stakeholders representing chambers and federations from both sides of the LoC. Dr Shah, who replaces the founder President Mr Zulfiqar Abbasi, was chosen with consensus nine out of eleven members representing of Kashmir Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Kashmir Traders and Manufacturers Federation (KTMF) and Cross-LoC Traders. The representatives of the Federation of Chambers of Industries Kashmir (FCIK) could not attend the meeting in Srinagar on Thursday, the spokesperson told newsmen at the AJKCCI office here on Friday.

As per sub section (L) of section 4 of the Istanbul Agreement of November 28, 2011, the election of the President of JK-JCCI was conducted at Srinagar on Thursday by Indus Research Foundation, a regional partner of the Conciliation Resources, London, which has been facilitating the formation of Joint Chamber as part of its six major Cross-Line of Control cooperation initiatives in consultation with governments and civil society actors.

The JK-JCCI is comprised of 44 members with 22 of drawn from Jammu and Kashmir (11 each from Srinagar and Jammu) and 22 from Pakistan administered Kashmir.

The agreement provided an exemption for electing the President for year 2012 out of a limited Electoral College of 11 members drawn from Kashmir only. The members are Mr Abdul Hamid Punjabi, Mr Rauf Ahmed Punjabi, Mr Mubeen Ahmed Shah and Mr Shahid Choudhary (all representing Kashmir Chambers of Commerce and Industry); Mr Mushtaq Chaya, representing tourism sector and nominated by President KCCI; Mr Zahoor Ahmed and Nazir Ahmed Shikari (representing Federation Chamber of Industries Kashmir), Mr Mohammad Yasin Khan and Mr Bashir Ahmed Kongposh (representing Kashmir Traders and Manufacturers Federation) and Tariq Khan and Hilal Ahmed Turki (Salamabad-Chakoti Cross-LoC Traders).  

The newly elected President Dr Mubeen Ahmed Shah vowed to work in close coordination with stakeholders and the government authorities for making Cross-LoC Trade a formal business preposition. He spoke to the President of Jammu Chamber of Commerce and Industry Mr YV Sharma and Chairman of Federation of Industries Mr Annil Suri for their support and offered to work in close coordination with them.