LAHORE - As many as 8,584 voters will exercise their right of ballot in Lahore Bar Association's today (Tuesday) election to elect new office-bearers while the main groups of the bar have lined up their strategies for the covet slot of president. For this year election of the bar, two candidates are contesting for the slot of president, four for vice president's two seats, three for two seats of secretaries, two each for joint and finance secretary. For the top slot, Ch Tariq Javed backed by Aitzaz Ahsan and Mian Israr and Rana Ziaur Rehman of Professional Group are the main contenders. The independent observers say Ch Tariq Javed has made rapid progress in last few days and is now enjoying commanding position mainly due to his role and commitment to lawyers on going movement for restoration of deposed judges. The president Supreme Court Bar Association Ali Ahmed Kurd is also favouring Tariq. On the other hand, Rana Ziaur Rehman who is a nominee of Professional Group headed by Hamid Khan, has also got the backing of PPP's leader and member Pakistan Bar Council Kazim Khan. Tariq has won the support of large number of voters including bigwigs of bar like Justice (r) Amir Alam Khan, Abid Hassan Minto, Hakam Qureshi, member Pakistan Bar Council Mian Israrul Haq, Asma Jhengir Iqbal Kalanoori and Muhammad Aslam Buttar. They are not only supporting but also campaigning for Ch Tariq Javed. Tariq Javed had rendered numerous sacrifices for lawyers' movement and suffered the hardships of detention. He was arrested on November 5 last year in a crackdown in the wake of emergency and PCO enforced by the dictator Pervez Musharraf. Hamid Khan is vice chairman of Tehrik-e-Insaf but its lawyers' wing had announced support for Tariq. President PTI Lawyers Forum Malik Khalid Awan had announced this in a Press conference. For the two vice president seats, four candidates are in the run including MR Awan, Ch Khalid, Ghulam Abbas Sehar and Bushra Qamar. The political analysts believe that the late entry of Sehar in the election arena has made the contest interesting what was earlier seen as easy win for Awan and Ch Khalid while for two seats of secretaries, Ahmed Yar Chawali and Khurram Rafiq Shaad are in winning position while Rai Nadeem Kharal is lagging far behind them. Meanwhile, Syed Fayyaz Jaffar and Fiaza Naeem Paracha are in the field for joint secretary seat where Jaffar is seemingly in better position than other contestants and Naeem Chohan and Asif Shakar are contesting against each other for the slot of finance secretary.