MULTAN/RAHIM YAR KHAN/GUJRANWALA - Polling for the annual elections of District Bar Associations in different districts here on Saturday.

As per detail, A PPP-backed candidate Mumtaz Noor Tangra won president office of District Bar Association Multan (DBAM) for the term 2013-2014 as he defeated two other contestants in the election, said the unofficial result.

Mr Tangra secured 1,339 votes while his nearest opponent Rana Miraj Khalid could get 497 and Mukhtar Ahmad Niazi stood third with 145 votes.

The elections remained peaceful and no untoward incident took place. Police made strict security arrangements as heavy contingents were deployed in and around district court premises. The polling started at 9:00 and continued till 4:30 pm. The electoral roll disclosed that 3406 voters were to use their right to elect their representatives.

The general secretary seat, also contested by three candidates, was clinched by Imran Rasheed Sulehri, who got 833 votes while his opponent Syed Waheed Raza Bokhari secured 710 and Ishtiaq Ali Shah 426.

The Joint Secretary post was grabbed by Kanwar Khalid, who amassed 1216 votes against his opponent Sabiha Ghauri’s 614. Aon Raza Shamsi was elected Library Secretary with 1294 votes while Sarfaraz Ahmad stood runner up with 645. The office of Finance Secretary was won by Sajjad Sipra with 1102 votes while Ijaz Siddiqui stood second with 700 votes and Imran Qamar Qadri third with 114 votes.

As many as 14 candidates are running for 10 executive member seats and the counting was underway till filing of this report. The contestants for the executive seats include Rizwan Shamas Bhuitta, Riaz Rajwana, Syed Ata Hussain Bokhari, Misbah Siddique, Jamil Qureshi, Rana Sarfaraz Shaukat, Chaudhry Ashraf, Zeeshan Tauqeer, Ijaz Lodhi, Tariq Butt, Hafiz Abdul Rauf, Muhammad Imran, Muhammad Habib ur Rehman and Muhammad Aqil Khan.

In GUJRANWALA, Advocate Irfan Saeed clinched the slot of President District Bar Association and emerged winner against his rivals Ilyas Hussain Rehan, Zaigham ullah Sansi and Malik Shaukat in the annual District Bar Association elections here on Saturday. The victory sparked celebrations as jubilant supporters of the newly elected President chanted slogans and distributed sweets.

Irfan Saeed secured 272 votes while his rivals Ilyas Rehan 230, Zaigham Ullah Sansi and Malik Shaukat bagged 125 and 95 votes respectively. The seat of senior vice president was won by Nasarrullah Gill who bagged 460 votes against Iqbal Sandhu who secured 190 votes. Rana Waqas won the seat of general secretary with 286 votes against his rivals Saqib Kareem and Farhan Tawakkal who secured 238 and 156 votes respectively. Advocate Hammad Munawwar was elected Vice President by grabbing 266 votes while his rival Rana Shahbaz bagged 181 votes. Zia ullah Antaal won the seat of joint secretary by securing 400 votes against his rival Muazzam Pall who got 240 votes.

Moreover Madam Asifa Dar and Tahir Amin Jarral have already elected unopposed for the slots of Library Secretary and Auditor respectively.

In RAHIM YAR KHAN, Friend’s Group won the District Bar Association elections.

According to unofficial results Habib Paris of Friend’s Group defeated Ijaz Abbasi of Wokla Ittehad Group for the seat of president and Mian Muhammad Irfan of Friends Group won the seat of general secretary by securing 256 votes against Rizwan Kahoja of Wokla Ittehad who got 249 votes.

Yousaf Alvi of Wokla Ittehad won the seat of vice president by getting 264 votes and defeated Rashid Minhas of Friends group who secured 242 votes. Mumtaz Ali Kamboh of Friends Group got the seat of joint secretary by securing 282 votes against Iftikhar of Wokla Ittehad who got 221 votes.