ISLAMABAD - Oppositon leader in National Assembly Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan Saturday refused to hold talks with the four-member committee formed by President Asif Ali Zardari regarding setting up of caretaker government, dissolution of assemblies and forthcoming general elections.

According to sources, Chaudhry Nisar has conveyed his decision to the PML-N leadership. The members of the committee included Khursheed Shah, Mian Raza Rabbani, Farooq H Naek and Nazar Muhammd Gondal.

The sources said Chaudhry Nisar was of the view that as an opposition leader in National Assembly he could not hold dialogue with the committee constituted to discuss formation of caretaker government and forthcoming elections.

They said Nisar was also of the view that under the 20th constitutional amendment, the opposition leader can only hold talks with the prime minister for the appointment of caretaker prime minister. PML-N has given a task to Senator Ishaq Dar to have consultations with the committee. However, sources added the final talks would take place between Chaudhry Nisar and Prime Minister Raja Pervaiz Ashraf for the appointment of caretaker PM, the sources added.