Islamabad - Election on 27 reserved seats of Islamabad Metropolitan Corporation will be held on January 16 (Saturday).

This election will complete the 77-member Islamabad Metropolitan Corporation that will later elect mayor and deputy mayor of the federal capital.

According to Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the 27 candidates on reserved seats will be voted by the 50 elected chairmen of union councils that will jack up the strength of the Metropolitan Corporation to 77.

For the 27 reserved seats, the 50 elected chairmen will cast votes for 17 women, three peasants/workers, three youth, three minorities and one technocrat members.

The polling according to the ECP will begin at 9:00am and conclude at 05:00 pm for which a returning officer and a district returning officer (DRO) have already been deputed. Polling will be held at Islamabad Model College for Boys, F-8/4.

As many as 62 aspirants are in the race for the 27 seats with both Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) are fielding their candidates to strengthen their presence in the first ever Islamabad Metropolitan Corporation.

The PML-N has fielded 12 candidates on women seats, two for peasant seats, three for youth members, two for non-Muslim seats and one for the seat reserved for a technocrat.

The PTI intends to clinch maximum share in the 27 seats by fielding nine candidates for women seats, three for peasants, two for seats reserved for youth and two and one for seats reserved for non-Muslim and technocrats respectively.

With 20 chairmen in hand coupled with support of some independent chairmen, the PML-N seems to be in a position to clinch majority of the 27 seats though the opposition PTI will also grab seats in the second phase of Islamabad local government election.

Spokesman for ECP said that the third and final phase of the polls will be election of mayor and deputy mayor and it will be held after the election on the reserved seats is concluded.

The polls held in the federal capital on November 30 last year resulted in a contest between PTI and PML-N though almost all political parties contested the exercise.

According to the results released by the ECP, PML-N secured 19 chairman seats while rival PTI came at second position with 17 chairmen. Independent candidates emerged as the third largest entity, grabbing a total of 13 seats.

According to ECP, the elected councillors including those elected on minorities’ seats can contest the election for mayor and deputy mayor.