PR LAHORE - Producers Panel’s Aftab Chaudhary elected Electronic Media Producers Association (Empra) president after the first elections for the office of Empra were held here the other day.

As many as 580 producers exercised their right to vote. There are total 611 members.

Producers Panel grabbed most of the seats including senior vice president, vice president, joint secretary and finance secretary.

Progressive Panel’s Rao Awais was also candidate for the president slot. Progressive Panel got general secretary and information secretary slots.

Farooq Majeed elected senior vice president, while Ali Qureshi joint secretary, Adeel Ahemd Amir finance secretary, Asif Sindhu vice president and Adeel Ahmed vice president.

Karar Shah, Abul Hameed Naqeebi, Ubaid Shah, Usman Hussain, Syed Tanzeel Gillani, Mian Asim Afzal and Iram Shahzadi elected governing body members.

Progressive Panel’s president Rao Awais greeted the newly-elected body and assured them of full support.

Senior journalists including Salim Bokhari, Salman Ghani, Arif Nizami, Nasarullah Malik, Muhammad Usman, Fahad Hussain, Asif Ali Poota, Farhat Abbas Shah, Shahbaz Mian, Afzal Talib, Shadab Riaz, Khalid Abbas Dar monitored the election process.