LAHORE - A ceremony pertaining to unveil the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Twenty20 Tournament trophy was organised at Bagh-e-Jinnah in Lahore on Tuesday.

Chairman Pakistan Cricket Board Executive Committee Najam Sethi along with captain of women cricket team Sana Mir revealed the trophy. Pakistan women cricket team was also present on the occasion and made selfies with the Trophy.

Earlier, the T20 trophy was exposed at terror-hit Army Public School in Peshawar on Monday. One-day international (ODI) skipper Azhar Ali was also present on the occasion. The trophy arrived in Lahore on Tuesday, before it moves on to Bangladesh (14 &15 January) and then Sri Lanka (17 & 18 January).

The ICC World Twenty20 2016 trophy embarked on a global journey from Mumbai on Sunday, 13 December and return to New Delhi on February 1. As part of the Nissan Trophy Tour, the trophy is visiting 12 countries taking part in the tournament which will be staged in India from 11 March to 3 April 2016.

During its journey, the trophy has been on display at domestic and international matches, as well as at various public places, which will enable the fans to capture a very special moment with the most prestigious silverware in the shortest format of the world game.

India and Pakistan will play their group match at the World Twenty20 in the hill city of Dharamsala on March 19, and New Delhi and Mumbai will host the semifinals. Kolkata‘s Eden Gardens was already announced as the venue for the final of the 16-team tournament from March 8 to April 3.

South Africa, England, the West Indies, and Sri Lanka are in Group 1, while India, Pakistan, Australia, and New Zealandare in Group 2 of the Super 10 stage. They will be joined by two of the eight other teams competing in a qualifying competition.

Chennai was not chosen as a venue since three stands at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium are not in use because of a legal issue with local authorities. It will, however, host matches in the Women s World Twenty20 to be played concurrently. The men‘s tournament, which carries prize money of $5.6 million, has been won once each by India, Pakistan, England, the West Indies, and Sri Lanka. Defending champion Sri Lanka is the only team to have reached the final three times.