LAHORE: Openers Kamran Akmal and Salman Butt once again led Wapda to a thrashing 9-wicket victory over young Pakistan Television (PTV) team in the PCB Departments One-Day Cup 2017-18 second semifinal played at the NBP Sports Complex, Karachi.

According to information made available here on Friday, thanks to opener Kamran Akmal and Salman Butt, Wapda replied very strongly and punished PTV bowlers severely. Kamran was mainly more severe with bat as he hammered 86-ball 87 runs with the help of 11 fours and three smashing sixes. Caption Salman Butt was relatively a bit cool and played 103 balls to score unbeaten 75 runs with the help of just 4 boundaries. Bismillah Khan was another hard-hitter from Wapda, who contributed unbeaten 67, hitting 4 fours and one six.

Earlier, Wapda won the toss and invited PTV to bat first. Though PTV batsmen couldn’t bat freely and kept on losing wickets on regular interval, yet they managed to score 231 runs losing 9 wickets in the 50 overs. The main contribution came from captain Saud Shakeel, who batted brilliantly throughout the tournament, and this time, he gathered 47 runs.

It was middle order including Hasan Raza (34), M Irfan (33), Hasan Mohsin (30), Taimur Khan (29) and Ali Khan (27), who contributed significant runs to help PTV pile up a decent total. M Irfan was the main wrecker-in-chief of PTV batting as he grabbed 3 wickets for 33 runs while Mansor Amjad and Khalid Usman bagged two wickets each for 20 and 35 runs respectively. Asif Yaqoob and Imtiaz Iqbal were field umpires while Ahmed Shahab was TV umpire, Iftikhar Ahmed referee and Waseem Abbas official scorer.

Wapda will now take on United Bank Limited (UBL) on Sunday at the United Bank Limited Sports Complex, Karachi. Earlier in the first semifinal, UBL routed Sui Southern Gas Corporation by 7 wickets to qualify for the final. PTV was the young team, which displayed outstanding performances throughout event and succeeded in qualifying for the semifinal, where they were thrashed by power Wapda team.


PTV: 231-9 in 50 overs: (Saud Shakeel 47, 57 balls, 7x4s, Hasan Raza 34, 48 balls, 2x4s, Muhammad Irfan 33, 47 balls, 4x4s, Hasan Mohsin 30, 51 balls, 2x4s, Taimur Khan 29, 26 balls, 2x4s, 1x6, Ali Khan 27, 31 balls, 3x4s, Muhammad Irfan 3-33, Mansoor Amjad 2-20, Khalid Usman 2-35)

WAPDA: 234-1 in 43 overs: (Kamran Akmal 87, 86 balls, 11x4s, 3x6s, Salman Butt 75, 103 balls, 4x4s, Bismillah Khan 67, 70 balls, 9x4s, 1x6, Waleed Malik 1-49).