Mumbai - Suresh Raina and Shikhar Dhawan kept India in the hunt, and MS Dhoni and Yuvraj Singh took India agonisingly close, but South Africa held their nerve to pull off a 3-run win in the ICC World T20 2016 warm-up match at Mumbai.

Chasing a daunting target of 197, India lost wickets of Rohit Sharma (10) and Virat Kohli (1) early in the chase. Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane then tried to rebuild. But the right-hander fell to Imran Tahir for just 11 runs and India were struggling at 48 for three in seventh over.

Dhawan then along with Suresh Raina steadied the Indian ship and stitched a 94-run stand for the fourth wicket. The duo then retired out, being a practice game, with Dhawan scoring 53-ball 73, which included ten fours while Raina made 41 off 26 balls.

With India needing 55 from last four overs, MS Dhoni and Yuvraj Singh came out to bat as Dhawan and Raina retired in the same over.

The duo did try their best to bring India close to the target with some fine hitting. However, with 14 needed off six balls, India could not cross the line. Chris Morris gave away 10 runs to help his side win. Dhoni and Yuvraj finished unbeaten on 31 and 16 respectively. Earlier, South Africa opting to bat got off to a poor start losing two wickets inside four overs. Jasprit Bumrah picked the first wicket in the shape of Hashim Amla (5), and then Mohammad Shami dismissed, Proteas captain Faf du Plessis (12).

A 77-run stand between Quinton de Kock (56) and JP Duminy (67) provided South Africa the ,much-needed impetus and helped their team go past the hundred-run mark. With significant contributions by the middle-order batsmen, South Africa managed to to put up a challenging 196 on the board.

India used seven bowlers; however, fast bowler Ashish Nehra and Ravi Ashwin did not bowl. Hardik Pandya picked three wickets while Bumrah and Shami scalped two wickets each. Rest of the bowlers went wicket-less. The crowd at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai was treated to a spectacular match between India and South Africa .



HM Amla c Dhoni b Bumrah 5

Q de Kock retired hurt 56

F du Plessis c Jadeja b Shami 12

JP Duminy c Jadeja b Shami 67

DA Miller c Dhoni b Pandya 18

RR Rossouw c Jadeja b Pandya 11

D Wiese c Dhoni b Pandya 0

CH Morris b Bumrah 14

F Behardien run out 5

KJ Abbott not out 0

AM Phangiso not out 0

EXTRAS: (lb 2, w 6) 8

TOTAL: (8 wickets; 20 overs) 196

FOW: 1-15, 2-33, 2-110*, 3-148, 4-170, 5-171, 6-186, 7-194, 8-195

BOWLING: Harbhajan Singh 4-0-27-0, M Shami 4-0-37-2, JJ Bumrah 4-0-51-2, HH Pandya 4-0-36-3, P Negi 1-0-12-0, RA Jadeja 2-0-18-0, SK Raina 1-0-13-0


RG Sharma lbw b Abbott 10

S Dhawan retired hurt 73

V Kohli c de Kock b Steyn 1

AM Rahane b Imran Tahir 11

SK Raina retired hurt 41

Yuvraj Singh not out 16

MS Dhoni not out 30

EXTRAS: (lb 2, w 6, nb 2) 10

TOTAL: (3 wickets; 20 overs) 192

FOW: 1-11, 2-16, 3-48, 3-142*, 3-142*

BOWLING: DW Steyn 4-0-36-1, KJ Abbott 4-0-32-1, CH Morris 4-0-42-0, D Wiese 2-0-26-0, Imran Tahir 3-0-25-1, JP Duminy 2-0-16-0, AM Phangiso 1-0-13-0

TOSS: South Africa

UMPIRES: HDPK Dharmasena, MA Gough

MATCH REFEREE: DC Boon (Australia)