ISLAMABAD - The Defence Committee of the Cabinet (DCC), which met with Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani in the chair on Thursday, condemned the US unilateral action in Abbottabad and termed it a violation of Pakistans sovereignty. Mr Gilani, in his opening remarks, emphasized the importance of ensuring national security and protection of national interests by all state institutions, with the full support of the people. The DCC comprehensively discussed the situation arising from the US covert operation of May 2, 2011 in the surroundings of Abbottabad that killed Osama bin Laden. After in-depth discussions on national security and foreign policy aspects, the DCC underscored that safeguarding Pakistans sovereignty and national security is a sacred duty, which will be ensured at all costs. It also emphasized that Pakistan remains firmly committed to eliminating all forms and manifestations of terrorism. The DCC decided to institute an inter-agency process to clearly define the parameters of our cooperation with the US in counter-terrorism, in accordance with Pakistans national interests and the aspirations of the people. It emphasized that Pakistan is capable and shall respond appropriately to any challenge to national security. The DCC reiterated Pakistans readiness to cooperate with the international community in promoting effective joint cooperation in countering terrorism. This cooperation will be predicated on Pakistans security interest. It emphasized the paramount importance of respect for Pakistans sovereignty; the need for adopting a partnership approach based on mutual respect and mutual trust and strongly rejected unilateralism. In the external domain, the DCC emphasized that Pakistan will continue to take all appropriate steps to promote regional stability, peace and security, broaden and deepen its engagement with regional states as well as with major powers. Apart from Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee Gneral Shamim Wynne and COAS General Parvez Kayani , Chief of Air Staff and Chief of Naval Staff, senior minister and ministers for Defence, Finance, Interior and Information, secretary Defence participated in the meeting.