The general elections 2013 turned out to be a nightmare for the losing candidates, especially for the three former federal ministers who were defeated from their ancestral constituencies. As per detail, former Federal Minister Ch Anwar Ali Cheema was knocked out by the PML-N candidate in NA-67, former State Minister Tasneem Ahmed Qureshi faced defeat in NA-66 and another former State Minister Ghias Ahmed Mela was defeated in NA-65. Whereas Jamaat-e-Islami candidate Dr Arshad Shahid in NA-66 and PML-N candidate Kamil Shamail Gujjar who had quit PPP and joined PML-N was defeated by his opponent in PP-36. Similarly, PML-N candidate Malik Shoaib Awan who joined the party before election was knocked out by opponent in PP-32.