PESHAWAR - Pakistan People’s Party candidate Malak Tehmash Khan won PK-8 Peshawar-VIII by securing 11797 votes in the by-election held amid tight security arrangements here on Thursday, say unofficial results.

According to the unofficial results, PML-N candidate Arbab Waseem remained second in the run by scoring 10910 votes followed by the JUI-F’s Asif Iqbal Daudzai who obtained 9012 votes, while the PTI’s candidate, who had also the support of JI and QWP remained at fourth position in the run by getting 7807 votes only.  

A total of 15 nominees contested on PK-8, Peshawar-VIII, which has fallen vacant after the demise of the N-League lawmaker Arbab Akbar Hayat Khan. Polling began at 8am and concluded at 6pm without any break.  To ensure law and order situation during the polling, over 5400 policemen along with army have been deployed in and outside the polling stations. Though, 40 polling stations have been declared extremely sensitive and 47 more sensitive in the constituency, however, no major incident of violence was reported during the polling process. However, after complaints of not formally starting women voting even after the passage of scheduled time at Khazana Bala - citing the reason that traditionally women voting has never been allowed in this area.

The PPP MPA Nighat Orakzai and others who were present on the occasion not only condemned it but also protested in strong words forcing the concerned authorities to began women voting process after the lapse of more than two-hour.

Despite that too much enthusiasm was witnessed at polling stations because voters of all age - men and women and youngsters fully participated in the process.

Soon after winning the PK-8 seat, a large number of workers and supporters gathered outside the house of the PPP’s winning candidate Malak Tehmash Khan and started aerial firing and danced at beat of drums.