Karachi/Lahore: Filing of nomination papers for the second phase of local bodies elections in Punjab and Sindh began today. First phase of municipal elections in Sindh and Punjab will begin on October, 12 whereas polling for the second phase will be held on November, 19.


According to Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), nomination papers can be filed till 17th September before the scrutiny that will end on October 1st.


Last date for filing of appeals against acceptance or rejections of candidatures is October 6. Appeals will be disposed of on October 12, and candidates can withdraw their papers up to October 13.

Final list of candidates will be published along with election symbols on the October 14.


In Punjab, local government elections in the 2nd phase will be held in Khanewal, Sahiwal, Toba Tek Singh, Chiniot, Sargodha, Mianwali, Sheikhupura, Gujranwala, Hafizabad, Mandi Bahauddin, Attock and Jhelum districts.


In Sindh, elections will be held in districts Matiari, Tando Allahyar, Tando Muhammad Khan, Thatta, Sujawal, Badin, Hyderabad, Dadu, Jamshoro, Shaheed Benazirabad, Naushahro Feroze, Sanghar, Mirpur Khas, Umerkot and Tharparkar.