LAHORE/KARACHI - Six Additional Judges of the Lahore High Court (LHC) and two of Sindh High Court took oath on Saturday as permanent judges. LHC Chief Justice Syed Hussain administered oath to the judges including Justice Zibdatul Hussain, Justice Zafar Iqbal Chaudhry, Justice Khawaja Farooq Saeed, Justice Muhammad Akram Qureshi, Justice Khurshid Anwar Bhindar and Justice Mazhar Hussain Minhas. The simple but impressive ceremony, held at the LHC judges lounge, was attended by judges of this court, Advocate Gen Punjab Khawaja Haris Ahmad, Federal and provincial law officers and relatives of the permanent judges. The said judges, among nine, were appointed as Additional Judges for one year last year. Meanwhile, Justice Saghir Ahmad has been relieved as not confirmed while service period of Justice Ali Hussain Rizvi and Justice Saifur Rahman has been extended for another six months. The present working strength of the LHC judges is 34, of them 12 judges are working as Additional Judges. Lately, the maximum strength of the LHC judges has been increased to 60. In Karachi, two SHC additional judges, Justice Agha Rafiq and Justice Bin Yamin, took oath as permanent judges. SHC Chief Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali administered oath to Justice Agha Rafiq Ahmed and Justice Bin Yamin at a ceremony held at SHC premises on Saturday. According to the notification issued by the law ministry, the service of two judges Justice Arshad Noor Khan and Justice Syed Pir Ali Shah was extended by six months. However, Justice Ghulam Dastagir A Shahani, Justice Farukh Zia Sheikh and Justice Dr Qamaruddin Bohra were relieved as their tenure expired. According to the official, both judges have sworn oath in the oath taking ceremony held here at the judges' library of Sindh High Court. Meanwhile, the lawyers' representatives' bodies did not participate in the ceremony as Sindh High Court Bar Association (SHCBA) has boycotted the oath-taking ceremony.