SHARJAH - Pakistan recalled leg-spinner Yasir Shah and all-rounder Awar Ali for the three remaining one-day internationals against New Zealand as they continued to sweat over skipper Misbah-ul Haq's injury on Saturday.

Pakistan went down by four wickets in the second one-day in Sharjah on Friday, a game in which Misbah hurt his hamstring leaving him doubtful for the third game, also in Sharjah on Sunday. Fast bowlers Umar Gul (ankle) and Bilawal Bhatti (hand injury) were also sidelined and are returning home.

Chief selector Moin Khan said Misbah had undergone a MRI on his injury. "Misbah has gone through an MRI scan on his hamstring injury and has been retained until his medical report comes," said Moin. "Gul and Bhatti have been dropped owing to fitness issues, while all-rounder Ali and leg-spinner Shah have been included", said Khan.

Yasir took 27 wickets in the five Tests which Pakistan played -- two against Australia and three against New Zealand -- since October this year. The 28-year-old has played a single one-day international, against Zimbabwe in Harare in September 2011. Anwar, meanwhile, played both T20 games against New Zealand but had been excluded from the squad for the first two ODIs. "Despite fitness issues dogging many key players, it still remains a pretty strong side. And I am positive that it would perform to its potential in the three remaining ODI games," said Moin. The fourth and fifth matches will be played in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday and Friday. The series is currently tied at 1-1, with Pakistan winning the first match by three wickets in Dubai.

M Hafeez, who was supposed to be released from the ODI squad in order to work on his action, has been retained.

 The PCB had said that Hafeez would be sent to Chennai to work with biomechanists and correct his bowling action, which was deemed illegal by the ICC earlier in the month. The selectors decided to retain him in the squad until his India visa is cleared.

SQUAD: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain, Ahmed Shehzad, Anwar Ali, Asad Shafiq, M Hafeez, Haris Sohail, M Irfan, Nasir Jamshed, Sarfraz Ahmad, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah, Younus Khan, Zulfiqar Babar.