Sindh 11 candidates for the senate seats have been elected unopposed. Provincial Election Commissioner said that this was for the first time in the history of Sindh 11 candidates have been elected senators unopposed. Babar Ghauri, Faisal Raza Abidi, Maula Bukhsh Chandio, Gul Muhammad Lat, Abdul Haseeb Khan, Islamuddin Sheikh, Dr. Khattumal Jevan, Interior Minister, Rahman Malik, Law Minister, Faruque H Naek, Sherala Malik and Almas Perveen were included among the elected senators. Talking to media, Interior Minister, Rahman Malik said that all the political parties in Sindh have jointly got all the senators elected unopposed. MQM leader, Babar Ghauri expressed the hope that the reconciliation process would also be taken ahead in other provinces. Sindh Chief Minister, Qaim Ali Shah said that the democracy in progress in Pakistan owed a great deal to the sacrifice made by the Shaheed Zulfiquar Ali Bhutto and Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto. He said that he was thankful to Asif Zardari, Altaf Hussain, Pir Pagara and Arbab Rahim for the unopposed election of senators.